FO: Flower Shawl

August 5, 2009

Flower Shawl Done

What a fun little shawl to knit, out of 16 rows only 4 have a pattern on them, and its really simple.  The petal border was a lot of fun to knit on after, even if it felt like it took a long time.  I used two strands of Misti Alpaca held together to match the yarn used in the original pattern from last summers Knit 1 magazine.  It still came out a bit small, and only stretched a little bit surprisingly during a vigorous blocking.  This was to be done at the end of the Tour de France, which is wasn’t HOWEVER, we still haven’t finished watching the Tour.  We are on the last stage, and Monday night I got sleepy watching Lance drink his glass of champagne on his way into Paris, we still need to finish watching to see how the final sprint went.  We know the end result, but I would like to see it! 

This is going to be a Christmas present for my Aunt Lil, hopefully it will warm her shoulders on the cold Ontario nights.  Believe it or now, I now have a Christmas present box, and it contains 2 presents.  I know, I’m very impressed with myself!  Normally on Dec 15 I decide to make things, and scramble, but here I am a whole 4 months ahead of time with two down already.  I feel so mature and organized. 

By the way, the observant among you will notice puddy toes belonging to Jack in the photo above.  The rule is no cats on the table, but he sat there so patiently, so evidently wanting to help out with the photoshoot, and add the necessary fur to the shot, what could I do?  He got shooed off after.  And after that, and after that,….then the girl cat,…and again, and so goes the evening.

8 Responses to “FO: Flower Shawl”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Christmas? I don’t even think about that until at least mid-December. Pretty shawl!

  2. Anne said

    It’s beautiful! Just lovely. I feel sure your Aunt will adore it. 🙂

  3. Heather Joins The Round said

    That’s a great gift! Nice work, Anne.

  4. Teri said

    I have Christmas presents leftover from last year – otherwise, my box would be empty! Crazy to think of holiday knitting NOW.

  5. dragonsnlace said

    I would most likely have to start knitting people presents a year or two in advance of Christmas and I just tend to not think that far ahead. I’m one of those idiot last minute guys. Nice job on the shawl.

  6. melanie said

    I wrote in my agenda to start thinking about Christmas on July 1st but I haven’t looked at my agenda in months. July was crazy with the Stampede but I am back to thinking about Christmas. Maybe this means I will start my presents in Nov. instead of Dec.? To be honest though, I have already bought Moira a doll crib which I plan to repaint in Sept. when my parents come home and they are going to help me get a piece of foam for a matress so at least I am THINKING about Christmas presents.

  7. Julie said

    Oh that is so pretty! Easy I like easy, just might have to put that one on my list. Your Aunt is just going to love it!

  8. CP said

    Oh, that is very pretty! I love the color!

Leave a Reply

