FO: February Lady Jacket

August 13, 2009

Finally got this one finished off, Ravelry reminds me that I started it back in April.  It may not have been the best idea to make this in a much thinner yarn that used in the pattern, but somehow it all worked out after much agonizing.

August 12 009

Its not too small, its not too short or long, and it fits very comfortably on me.  The Silky Wool is beautiful with a deep blue colour, and a touch of tweed.  The sleeves are not too baggy, as I made them as small as possible without actually decreasing stitches, no extra stitches were cast on and I sewed up the resulting holes under the arms. 

February Lady Jacket finished

I knew the yarn would grow upon blocking, and so tried not to get too worried when trying it on as I knitted.  Before blocking it was too short for my taste, now it is a good length.  I did make a mistake on placing the button holes, instead of centering them in the middle of the 14 stitch button band, they are on the side.  It annoys me, but I’m working on my “crazy asymmetrical side” and hoping that I grow as a creative person instead.  Since I didn’t realize this until I actually sewed the buttons on and put it on, there was no way I was going to fix that.  The neckline was a bit stretchy so I ran a bit of crochet around it to give it structure, catching the loops of the cast-on for a pretty effect.  The buttons were bought last spring at Jo-Ann’s, when I get a chance to visit now I stock up!

FLJ Button Detail

This is going to be a good addition to the wardrobe, something I can wear to the office, and at home.  It doesn’t look very nice unbuttoned however, the buttons are too heavy for the thing fabric.  Good thing I”m cold blooded and will most likely have it done up all the time.

7 Responses to “FO: February Lady Jacket”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Wonderful! It looks great.

    Repeat after me: Asymmetry is a good thing. Asymmetry is a good thing.

  2. margene said

    It’s a very handsome and beautiful sweater. Wear it well, it looks fabulous on you!

  3. Stitch-n-Snitch said

    Gorgeous!

    I love those buttons at JoAnn, too. 😉

  4. Julie said

    Its looks so cute on you! I just love the buttons.

  5. Anne said

    How pretty! I love the color, and Silky Wool is an almost year-round yarn, which will be VERY good for a wardrobe staple.

  6. Heather Joins The Round said

    What a great color for you! You are going to wear that a lot, it looks great on you. And I do love the buttons!

  7. Sonia K. said

    Looks really good on you. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

