My new favorite thing…

August 14, 2009

is my newly assembled, finally out of the garage and in use composter:

August 10 005

I love it so much, and am so happy that it s finally assembled.  Have I mentioned I love assembling things like this from instructions?  If you ever want someone to assemble all your Ikea furniture, give me a call, its tons of fun.  It took me a long time to get it set up as I always thought I wanted it in the back corner of the yard, and that I needed the fence done first so the neighbours wouldn’t hate me.  I then realized that putting a lovely stepping stone against the fence for the cats wasn’t a good idea, plus the odds of me using in the winter go up immensely if it is just at the end of the deck.  Therefore I put it right beside where the garden will go (hopefully next spring!).  Right now we are hard at work getting the next important piece of composting tools ready:  the 4 L ice cream bucket to collect the compost before we take it outside in -40 oC to put it into the bin.  Although its a tough job, we’re working hard to finish all that ice cream off!

I have realized that figure skating season is almost upon me, its going to start sometime in September.  This year I have decided I’m going to compete in the freeskate competition, which means I need to land an axle and double soucow consistently!  It also means I need a sparkle dress, good thing my Mum has agreed to make me one.  I’m thinking it will be black, tank top, with maybe flowy cap sleeves and silver sequins.  I’m also thinking I’d like to skate to some tango music, any suggestions?  The tango from “Shall We Dance” is pretty high on the list at the moment. 

Have a good weekend everyone!

5 Responses to “My new favorite thing…”

  1. Jen said

    If you need any help with that ice cream Anne– don’t be afraid to call! 🙂

  2. sayingthings said

    Oh, I can totally, totally relate to having your compost bin be your favorite thing. I might be in love with your bin from afar.

    I use an old 3-gal bucket to hold my compost before taking it out. It is an honest-to-goodness food storage sealing bucket, so it keeps the bugs out and the smell in. But it is hard to open. Otherwise, it’s awesome. I used to use 1 qt yogurt containers, but they didn’t seal well enough. I live peacefully with fruit flies, but not Brad.

  3. Heather Joins The Round said

    I like “perhaps, perhaps, perhaps”…What about the version from Cake? Too obvious?

    Your compost bin rocks!

  4. melanie said

    I think you look beautiful in blue with your lovely blue eyes so I vote for a blue sparkle dress – besides, black is overdone. 🙂

  5. Julie said

    Oh I have been looking at these and really what one. Yours looks so big and nice!

Leave a Reply

