Ahhhh, Les Vacances!

August 21, 2009

Finally, oh finally, I’m on vacation in exactly 40 minutes.  But I may leave early, I’m a rebel that way!  I am really looking forward to having a week off, and getting away from it all so to speak.  Mr. J and I are taking it easy tonight, then driving down to Fernie BC for some mountain camping at their provincial park tomorrow.  I’ve even convinced him to leave his laptop behind for a blissfully electronics free week.  We’re taking our bikes, hiking shoes, bathing suits, and relaxing chairs.  For entertainment I’ve got knitting, mais bien sur, books, games, cards, and each other.  I do so love reading by candlelight in the campsite, hopefully watching the campfire.  They are a bit dry over there, so campfires may or may not be allowed, we’ll have to see when we get there.  No cell phones, no laptops, no background whine noise.  Just wind in trees, birds, natural noises. 

For knitting I’m going to start a new sweater and see how far along I get.  Its going to be a camping sweater, big and warm so a good thing to knit this week.  I’m also bringing along my unfinished sock projects to try and clean some of those up!  I’m not forgetting there is a yarn store in Fernie either!! 

I can’t tell you how good it will be for me to spend a week in the mountains, in the trees, sleeping in a tent breathing all that fresh air.  Riding my bike around the single track, hiking out to some cool viewpoint, this is my de-stresser, this is how I reboot, revitalize, recharge.  I promise to take lots of photos, but I’m doing my best to unplug from life!  When I was in university we delighted in going on two week canoe trips, and in Ontario/Quebec you can do this and see NO ONE but each other for all of those two weeks.  The beauty of those trips, the lake to ourselves, the loon calls, the stars reflected on the still surface of the water, the fire we made ourselves, cooking our dinner, grilling some bannock.  Our rules were pretty simple but important; no watches, only simple schedules, no negativity.  The no watches rule helped us forget about time, and made us cue into the world around us to know when we should camp, have lunch etc.  As an example of why we did this; a sister of a friend letting us know that packing up that morning took over an hour, and we should try and do better the next day.  I almost clocked her and threw her watch in the water.  By the end of the trip however she has calmed right down, and was into the rhythm of the trip, and she was a different, much nicer person.  She had fun!  She let go a bit, and dug her feet into the earth, and exhaled. 

See you on the other side, and enjoy your last week in August!

Downtown Fernie

5 Responses to “Ahhhh, Les Vacances!”

  1. sayingthings said

    Have a great one (or, by the time you read this, I HOPE you HAD a great one!) It has never occurred to me to bring a candle for reading after dark. What a great idea!

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    Have a great time! See you when you get back!

  3. Anne said

    Have a fantastic time – enjoy all there is to enjoy!

  4. Julie said

    Have a great time! I just finished a sweater and I’m so happy its done!!!!!

  5. Sharon G. said

    Have a great trip!!!!! I can’t wait to see what fibery goodness you create while you’re gone!!

Leave a Reply

