FO:Baktus Scarf

September 1, 2009

Baktus Scarf Complete

This little scarf was a quick knit that has turned into a handy accessory already.  Its a garter stitch triangular scarf using 1 skein of Twist of Fate BFL.  By tying it on backwards, point down, it forms a shape that cups your chin and nose when pulled up, is tight to your neck, which keeps it warm, and dips down to a point in front to plug any holes in your coat or sweater so that cold air can’t get down there.  I wore it each night we were camping, so that my concentration didn’t waver from Killer Scabble, Death Rummy, or Zombie Backgammon due to a cold neck, chin, or nose.  This morning I wore it loosely tied around my neck, point in back, just to ward off the early morning chill. 

For the crochet border I pulled out my trusty collection of Magic Crochet magazines.  To confess something: I can’t for the life of my understand written out crochet patterns.  The MC magazine draws everything out using symbols, which makes it all so easy.  Hello graphical depiction, so easy! 

Another confession: I’m addicted to Finnish knitting blogs.  I think it is because they are knitting for similar climates, warm woolies are a must, and have wonderful taste in fashion.  Also, they have extremely cute babies on their blogs covered in wool and homemade clothes.  And great ideas, like putting pom-pom’s on the ends of your Baktus scarf!!

6 Responses to “FO:Baktus Scarf”

  1. Stitch-n-Snitch said

    Gorgeous! I think I might make one now. 🙂

  2. Anne said

    That’s a great outdoors accessory – I really like it!

  3. Julie said

    Oh that is so cute! I’m going to make me one as soon as I get two sweaters done!

  4. Heather Joins The Round said

    Nice!

    Which blogs?

  5. Cheryl S. said

    Very nice! I love the crocheted border.

Leave a Reply

