Home again, home again, but for how long?

September 24, 2009

Three days and some change I guess, since I’m off again next Sunday.  This leaves me just  a wee bit stressed out, especially since Jackie my little boy cat seems to be having some trouble still.  I took him to the vet a little while ago, he got antibiotics and seemed right as rain, but now his symptoms have come back again!  I guess Mr. J will have to take over once I go away again, I hate leaving my furry little boy behind when he’s sick.  Angst rant over.

The weather in this part of the country has been splendid for the last few weeks.  In fact here in Calgary yesterday they had the high temperature of the whole year!!  In September!!  My last afternoon in Winnipeg was enjoyable, even though I always find it to be such a grey city, case in point:

Winnipeg downtown

I did manage to wander down to their nice water front area for lunch, and a look around, and there were lovely colourful flowers there which I didn’t manage to get a photo of.  My time there was busy, I was networking away, and getting worked up about silly people not considering reusing their wastewater (irrigation on golf courses etc.) before they spent SOOOO much money putting it back into the river. 

I am also highly, highly enjoying my book which I’ll plug again, The Birth House by Ami McKay.  It is set in 1910’s Nova Scotia in a small town, and every woman is either cooking, knitting, spinning or dying yarn or looking after their children.  Knitting and fibre arts aren’t the focus of the book, they are there because they are a part of the book and life at that time, inseparable.  The book is about the clash between a mid-wife and the new male doctor that has come to town to save the day from the old ways.  The women come together in their “Occasional Knitting Society” to share wisdom, and knit thrummed socks for the boys in the war.  Now I really, really want thrummed socks to wear all winter long.  Once I’m done with my copy I intend to pass it along here in Calgary (Mrs Mello, and Miss J, you interested?).  Everyone else, I highly, highly recommend it. 

I did sneak away one evening to walk down Portage Ave (pronounced in the english manner there, rather than the French manner I’m used to) to visit Rams Wools.  It was a great LYS, with a wide variety of items including popular, work horses, fancy smancy stuff, exotic fibres, but what I loved was their Selkirk line of yarns.  I think it might be spun out at Briggs and Little (their fisherman yarn with the lanolin left in was a close second).  This is a “flour and sugar yarn” that makes wonderful fair isle, intrasaria (whatever on the spelling) (knitted pictures), and left overs turn into mitts, hats, tea cosies.  I was undone by the charcoal and heathered green:

Winnipeg Selkirk

Garter Stitch Yoke sweater with green stripes at the yoke, sleeves and hem, from Knitscene 2008 fall is what I have in mind for that!!  It should be a good everyday sweater, especially with some pretty green buttons.

5 Responses to “Home again, home again, but for how long?”

  1. Jen said

    Oooo! I’m definately interested in that book. I wish I had something equally interesting to share back!

  2. Jocelyn said

    I, too, have adopted the phrase “flour & sugar” yarn into my vocab. These are an awesome addition to your stash! Envy!

    Welcome home.

  3. Julie said

    I just don’t know how you keep going! It makes me tired just thinking about it.
    Your yarn is so pretty!

  4. Heather Joins The Round said

    That yarn is awesome!

  5. mrstwigg said

    I just started making that sweater using selkirk! I’m doing mine all in red, as that was what my stash had.

Leave a Reply

