Home to Discover Winter has Arrived

October 8, 2009

Is it snowing where you are?  Its snowing here, and chilly.  I felt really bad as I had left the furnace off the 7 days we were in Ontario, but the cats are covered in fur after all?  Piper immediately assumed her position on the furnace vent last night when the heat got turned on, and was rather grumpy for a bit until some serious cuddling occured.  Jack seemed just fine, he did not get sick again and die like I was worried about for 7 days.  On one hand I’m upset that Mr. J was right and I worried myself half to death for no reason, and on the other hand I’m really glad my adorable little furry boy is okay.  We are all also very happy to be reunited with our new mattress, which I’ve now slept on more than 7 times in one month.  The problem with having a nice new comfy mattress is that you notice how much the other hotel mattresses just don’t measure up, whereas before you were blind to the whole situation, and none the wiser.

After the weekend wedding extravaganza we began a whirlwind tour de Ontario and various relatives, and enjoyed the beautiful, beautiful fall colour.  I have a few projects to share with you, but first I must share a photo of the world’s most adorable 1.5 year old girl, my second cousin.  She finally fits into the BSJ jacket I made her, and she looks simply stunning in it.  Now her mother was a dear to put her in it for my visit, but there was a wonderful telltale sign of wear by the arms which mean it had already been well worn.  Nothing makes a knitters heart happier than evidence of much wear on our work.

Brinna in her sweater

This little sweeties great grandmother is from Estonia, which means I’m cooking up an idea for an Estonian pattern inspired sweater for her Christmas present, using the patterns from my Folk Knitting in Estonia book.  It will need to be a sweater that moves well, as this tiny girl does not stop for anything!

3 Responses to “Home to Discover Winter has Arrived”

  1. Jen said

    Cutest. kid. ever.

  2. sayingthings said

    Very cute. That little sweater looks so retro.

    I am interested to see what kind of Estonian sweater you come up with. If I remember correctly, that book doesn’t have any sweaters in it — will you be using the colorwork motifs?

  3. Heather Joins The Round said

    She’s beyond adorable!

    I have a baby sweater pattern derived from an Estonian lace pattern. I bought it in Jasper. It’s adorable and uses sock yarn. Let me see if I can find a link. The designer is a blogger from Vancouver, I think.

Leave a Reply

