FO: Wedding Mittens

October 9, 2009

Wedding mittens completeAs usual I was working on this present until two days before the wedding, but in my defense it was because knitting time was sorely lacking in the two weeks leading up to the event.  During my week in South Dakota I wasn’t getting back to my hotel until around 8:30 pm, and by the time I ate dinner, checked e-mail, well you know how it goes.  But the main point is that I had the last mitten washed and drying by the fire by Friday afternoon, and it was dry by Saturday evening.  With the Custom Woolen Mills (white) and Briggs and Little (coloured) it is so important to wash them first, the difference is like night and day.  The mittens even out, and soften up like magic.  I even had time to braid a little cord to hold both pairs together. 

I was really worried the mittens would be either too big or too small, and I’m still not sure.  I sincerely hope they fit okay!  When I gave them the mittens, the groom seemed puzzled at first until I pointed out the names, dates, and explained a bit about the tradition.  He then looked rather pleased and impressed (according to Mr. J)  It’s not necessarily a tradition of my English/Belgium culture, nor of their Hungarian/Canadian/Scottish culture, but I think borrowing from other cultures is entirely acceptable, especially when it is a good idea.  These mittens were made using leftover wool, so essentially no cost to me, which I think fits the bill when the couple asked for no wedding gifts. 

This weekend is Thanksgiving, so happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian friends, and to all those others who only celebrate Columbus Day.  Even after 8 years in the US, I still think it makes so much more sense to celebrate Thanksgiving this weekend instead of so close to Christmas.  We intend to stay home, do as close to nothing as possible, and pat the cats.

5 Responses to “FO: Wedding Mittens”

  1. Billy said

    Gorgeous mittens, what an intricate labour, congratulations!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you. We´re having a long weekend here, too, and my plans pretty much coincide with yours (except for cat patting).

  2. Monica said

    Lovely mittens! I hope there will be knitting along with the cat patting. Happy Thanksgiving and enjoy your weekend. xoxo

  3. Cheryl S. said

    Happy Thanksgiving, and I hope the bride and groom enjoy their lovely gifts.

  4. Julie said

    They are just lovely, what a great gift! I’m sure they will treasure them forever!!!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Heather Joins The Round said

    Super cool mittens. I think they’re a perfect gift and they look fantastic. Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

