A Weekend Hat Trick

October 13, 2009

Last weekend was cold (-10 oC) it snowed on and off, and was generally miserable.  Therefore we stayed in almost all weekend, caught up on tv shows, and I knit hats.  I was knitting hats as it is a good way to use up single skeins here and there, quick gratification, and my head was cold.  I ended up making three!  (The last one is missing the brim, but I was tired and had to go to bed, I can fix that in 15 minutes when I get home!).  Two are going into the Christmas box, one is gracing my head down here in South Dakota.  They were predicting a mix of rain/snow for tonight, which means I’m not looking forward to tomorrow morning. 

I started off making another Couvercle using Noro (Isharoo something, a lovely blend with angora) because I liked the last one I made so much, and had to give it away.

Couvercle Hat #2

The pattern is from Knitty.com, originally in cotton (!), much better in a wool blend for our cold climate.  I realized I still had a bunch of yarn left over, and made another! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next up was another pattern from the Fall Vogue Knitting, #12.  At first I didn’t really like this hat, and it looks a bit big and weird on the model.  However having made four pairs of the mittens from which the cable/bobble pattern originated, and a leftover skein of Manos Del Uruguay, I gave it a whirl. 

Vogue Knitting #12The photo isn’t that great, but this hat is a fun, fun knit.  I mean, did I mention it had a lot of bobbles?  Cables?  It was great!  AND my version looks pretty good on, it fits down over the entire ear, and is snug to the head, without the extra room on top.  No modeled shots due to hideously ugly sick me this weekend.  Perhaps when I get home and feel up to it.  Now this is for the Christmas box, but of course now I want one as well, and I happen to have some more chunkier yarn stashed away that might just fit the ticket.  This is a -20 oC hat!

 

 

And just so ya’ll know who really runs our household, its DEMON CAT!!!!!!

Demon CatIf you don’t pat her quick, she’ll get you!!!

5 Responses to “A Weekend Hat Trick”

  1. sayingthings said

    If you haven’t watched the literal video version of Total Eclipse of the Heart on YouTube, you should really do so now. Watch it with your cat so he can feel all sorts of kinship with the folks in the video.

  2. sayingthings said

    I like that top hat.

  3. Heather Joins The Round said

    Love the Manos hat! Fear the Demon Kitty!

  4. Julie said

    Snow don’t say snow! Today it does look and feel like we could get some. Love the hats and your cat does look a little scary!

  5. nicolaknits said

    Lovely yarn, especially the second cabled hat. I like to make hats as a distraction from my regular knitting.

Leave a Reply

