What Happens when you Retire

October 31, 2009

Do you think about retiring, about what you will do?  Do you see it as an endless bore, with nothing to do now that lovely, lovely work, the meaning of your life has been taken away?  Don’t laugh, I’ve met a few people that have told me that when they are forced to retire they will drink themselves to death as quickly as possible in order to end the boredom.  I personally can’t wait to retire, I see it as a time in life where I have the means to live a relatively comfortable life, and not have to make more money unless I really want to.  You see, I have the example of my parents, now retired for almost 15 (!) years.  Is it a bad thing that my parents are having more fun partying than I am? 

IMG_1178

Dad is the hot blonde with the pink body suit, Mum is the hot chick with silver locks.  I know, if I didn’t tell you which was the woman and which was the man you could be confused!  Wednesdays are big nights on the island as it is karaokee night.  Dad’s signature song apparantly is “You make me feel like a woman” and Mum’s is “Ride a Cowboy, Save a Horse”.  Now that photo isn’t too bad you say, I don’t understand what the big deal is you say.  Well, how about this:

IMG_1186

I know, Dad isn’t wearing any shoes with his lime green mesh pants.  Apparantly he broke them from boogieing too much earlier in the evening, but he’ll get some new pumps in Florida later in the year. 

Now I bet you can’t wait to retire!!

4 Responses to “What Happens when you Retire”

  1. Heather Joins The Round said

    Hilarious!

  2. Julie said

    What fun pictures it looks like they are having a good retirement. Yes we do think allot about it and because my mother passed away the year after they retired I have decided that I’m going to retire at 58. And yes I plan on having a good time with allot of travel.

  3. Cheryl S. said

    I love being retired, and I always looked forward to it eagerly. But I think that’s the whole thing – some people look forward to it, and some people dread it, especially if they define themselves by their work and have no other interests.

    I’ve heard that a lot of people die soon after retirement – but that they’re usually the ones who didn’t want to retire.

    I’m glad your parents are enjoying themselves so much, and I’m sure you will too, when the time comes. Many people I know say they’re so busy after retiring, that they don’t know how they ever had time for a job.

  4. nicolaknits said

    It’s good to see them having a fun time. As I am a stay-at-home homeschooling mum, I will consider myself at least partially retired around the time the kids leave home – or when they’re all over 18 anyway. I’m definitely looking forward to the time when my husband and I can enjoy some quiet time, some travelling, who knows what?!

Leave a Reply

