The Scary, Zombie Laden Weekend, Plus a Black Cat

November 2, 2009

This is the second year I’ve gotten to enjoy Hallowe’en in my house and this neighbourhood that is full of kids.  Its a lot of fun to see all the kids running around in their costumes, so, so excited.  One little butterfly, it appeared to be her first Hallowe’en and didn’t have the hang of it yet, stepped right into the house when we opened the door.  Her mafioso father with his giant machine gun had to pull her back out and explain that you just stood there and got candy.  This year we bought a pumpkin to carve, and since we’re all about zombies, picked out a good gnarled out.  It looked good during the day, but better at night!

Zombie PumpkinScary Zombie Pumpkin at nightWe added extra green marker for effect, and I tried to leave some stringy “brains” in behind.  I really, really, wanted to make a califlower garden out front, because they look like brains and that way we could catch some real zombies (A La Pride Predjudice and Zombies) but then Mr. J pointed out that was a waste of califlowers.

Instead we decorated the front window with our usual black cat:

Cats in the Window

And his sidekick “Chubby Tabby”.  They love looking at all the people running around, I think its Jack’s favorite day of the year.  All the little kids love it when they spot Jack. 

Well, I’ve gone and done it now, I cashed in some reward miles that I haven’t used in forever and I’m going to Stitches West in February.  This seems like an extremely good idea to me, as the best thing to do in February in Calgary is to get out of Calgary.  California seems like a great way to go.  My plan is to just go to the Marketplace on Saturday, and try and soak up some of the non -40 oC weather for a bit of a break.  As you can tell, I’m kinda of excited about the prospect as I’ve been catching up on the Stash and Burn podcasts and this event is a big thing in the lives of Jenni and Nicole.  Now I get to go and see it for my own eyes!

4 Responses to “The Scary, Zombie Laden Weekend, Plus a Black Cat”

  1. Julie said

    What fun window decor! Did you wear a black hat??

    Sounds like you will be having a fun time in Feburary!

  2. Cheryl S. said

    Love the pumpkin!

    And Stitches West! How fun! I hope you have a great time.

  3. Heather Joins The Round said

    Great pumpkin!

  4. Teri said

    JEALOUS!! Stitches West – too awesome.

Leave a Reply

