Knit a Sweater in November

November 5, 2009

Or “KnSWInNO” or whatever, I was never very good with things like that.  Numbers, I can remember numbers instantly and forever, but not so good with names.  As I’m very keen to use up my sweater yarn, and get the sweaters to wear before, say March, like normal, I’ve got some high goals for the coming month.  I’d like to finish the Snowflake sweater of course, but I’d also like to knit an entire sweater!  We’ll see how I do!  I’ve swatched, cast on, frogged back, and started again a Garter Yoke Cardigan from Fall ’08 Knit 1.  I’m currently on row 20, or halfway through the garter stitch yoke!  (I know highly  exciting). This is a pattern that in my opinion looks good on almost all the people who have made it.  Some other great variations I’ve admired are using handspun at the yoke in any bright colour, then something nice and neutral for the body. 

Beginning of Garter Stitch Sweater

This is using the Selkirk I bought at Ramswool in Winnipeg in September.  So far I’m very impressed with this stuff, it feels almost exactly like when you stick your fingers into a sheeps fleece on a live sheep, it has that sproingy, crimped hair feel to it.  I guess if you’ve ever done that you will kinda know what I mean.  My swatch using the recommended needles came out perfectly on gauge, and I’m roaring away.  I really love the look of striped garter stitch, therefore the plan is to have the green/black stripes on the yoke, then at the hem and the bottom of the sleeves.  This is knit top down in an almost seamless construction, even the button band is knit as you go.  I was worried about how the two sets of short rows at the back of the neck would look in the striping, but so far its not bad.  I don’t think anyone would notice it unless they are looking for it, and its not like I’m always staring at the back of my neck.  This should turn out to be a lovely warm, hopefully go with most of my weekend outfits (jeans, cords, pj’s).  Cardigans are key for me to wear around the house as Piper does insist on “softening” my gut by kneading on it every time she sits down.  I can move the hand knit out of the way for her, then move it back once she is “done” and its okay to settle down for a nap.  I’ve got high plans to start a Tempest if I get this done before the end of the month, but well, we’ll see how it goes.  I’m still in the initial “wow, this is going so fast, and I’m doing so well”, and haven’t hit the doldrums yet.

3 Responses to “Knit a Sweater in November”

  1. margene said

    I’m joining in, too and hope my sweater will be the 12th of the year!

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    I think the stripes are awesome.

    Silly cats.

  3. trek said

    Knit a whole sweater in November? Sigh.

    Wonder if it would still be possible to finish the current sweater before the end of November?

    Yours looks nice!

Leave a Reply

