A Bit of Sonne, and Baaaad Sheep

November 23, 2009

This weekend seemed to scream by so fast , and we find ourselves back at work for Monday.  Once again I was up at 5:30 am on Saturday for some skating on the other side of Calgary.  This was a good session however, everything gets a little bit better every time I skate.  Even my spins have improved 100% this year!  In the afternoon I had some fellow knitters over for a “Cocktails and Christmas Knitting” party.  I believe if you are going to have a little party, you might as well have a theme as well, I do love a theme.  It was very nice to sit around and chat, to meet a new friend, and reconnect with some others from last years retreat.  I had a grand plan to make circle cookies (gingerbread and sugar, that part worked out okay) and then use icing to make them look like yarn balls.  Total failure, but the plain unadorned cookies tasted pretty good.  And very unexpectedly one lovely woman brought me this ray of light:

Real, live, in the flesh Wollmeise!  I’m feeling very special today as I show it off, and enjoy the bright orange colours.  Its so very cheerful.  Its going to live on my mantle until I figure out the most perfect sock pattern ever, as only the best will do.

Speaking of socks, store bought ones that is, I have a real weakness for skiing and cycling socks.  I found these over at MEC today:

That little lady is a Baaaad Sheep!  They are wool socks, perfect for winter sports.  This is also why I’m not allowed to look at socks in sports store, due to the afore-mentioned weakness for them! 

I’m so tired from the weekend, I need another one!

3 Responses to “A Bit of Sonne, and Baaaad Sheep”

  1. Jocelyn said

    I am anxious to know what pattern you knit that gorgeous (GORGEOUS) Wollmeise with. Awesome.

    and when did MEC socks become so cute??

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    I love the Baaad sheepie!

  3. Julie said

    I really think I would like to go ice skating. I haven’t gone in over 40 years! Wow that is along time!

Leave a Reply

