Countdown to Christmas!

December 1, 2009

In only 25 days!  I can’t wait, mostly as the office is shutting down and I get a whole blissful week off of work.  Last year I had so many plans of what I was going to do, and then I ended up collapsing on the chesterfield for a week, just worn out from a fall full of work.  Instead of exercising two hours a day, we went for walks.  It didn’t help that it was frigidly cold, and exposed skin frozen in under five minutes.  I’ve already made a number of Christmas presents for my family in Ontario, but now I’m going to get going on the rest!  I fully realize that the nine items I have on my list may not get done, and I’m probably overreaching myself since I need to make three things a week for the next three weeks, but I’m looking forward to working on (almost) all these projects.

From left to right:

1) My collection of leftover Classic Wool to be transformed into felted slippers, and perhaps some felted bowls filled with goodies?

2) Red angora blend to make into a bonny tam.

3) Leftover Ultra-alpaca to make into some Turn a Square Toques

4) Thrummed mittens for my skating coach.  The more pregnant she gets, the less she can move around to keep warm, and the colder the rinks are getting!

5) Superwash fingerling to make an Estonian vest for my second cousin.  This one will be fun as I will be attempting to take a mitten pattern and transform it into a vest for a toddler.  I don’t know if this will work, but if it does it will be so cute. 

6) A striped poncho for niece the elder.  She has pretty bluey eyes!

7) A lacey shrug for niece the younger, who declared purple her favorite colour.

8 ) Bella mittens for SIL.  Time allowing I hope to make liner mittens for these with fleece material, as even though this yarn feel soft, it may be too scratchy for her. 

Wish me luck, and let the knitting begin!  I started some thrummed mittens last night, and I LOVE THEM SO MUCH ALREADY!  I figure I’ll make my pair, screw up on those, then make the other pair for my skating coach.  I’m going to need them as things are about to get colder around here…

3 Responses to “Countdown to Christmas!”

  1. Julie said

    It sounds like you have alot of work ahead of you! I’m just hopping to get my daughters hat and scarf done!

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    Wow, that is really ambitious! Go for it!

  3. Joline said

    Good luck. That’s a whole lotta yarn.

Leave a Reply

