The First Giant Purple Parka Day

December 2, 2009

I could tell as I drove home last night from babysitting that it was a chilly night.  The furnace came on last night, which also meant it was getting cold out.  (I have the programmable thermostat set to 16 oC, or 60 oF)  I knew from the forecasts to expect cold weather later in the week.  After I had gotten up, and headed downstairs, I checked the outdoor thermometer and sure enough: -16 oC or 3.2 oF.  Brrrr.  I left the house this morning wearing: tights, wool socks, winter boots to mid calf, pants, turtleneck, wool poncho, wool scarf, wool/mohair hat, wool mitts, and my huge purple parka with the hood up.  (and assorted undergarments, but not the fleece ones I so covet). 

I was still a bit chilly.  I do not know how I’m going to survive our first -40 oC day (-40 oF).  I realize I look really, really, stupid, but I do not care as it is cold out.  I will be fashionable again next spring.

7 Responses to “The First Giant Purple Parka Day”

  1. margene said

    Our coldest days will come this weekend. Your purple parka will at least brighten the dreary days and it’s most important to stay warm!!

  2. Jen said

    You hate being cold more than anyone else I know. It was pretty cold out there and I’m not looking forward to the walk home. I need to get me one of those coats!

  3. Cheryl S. said

    Anne? Anne? Is that you in there?

  4. Rycrafty said

    Today was my first wool sock day of the winter! It’s like the calendar flipped over to December, and all of a sudden: COLD.

  5. Heather Joins The Round said

    Me, I love a purple parka! Much more fun than olive drab!

  6. Monica said

    “I can’t put my arms down!” 🙂

  7. Julie said

    What a great picture! And I think its cold here, I would die there!

    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

