20th Anniversary of Montreal Massacre

December 6, 2009

On December 6th each year I make sure I take some time to remember what happened to the 14 female engineering students killed in Montreal by Marc Lepine.  This year as it is the 20th anniversary, there are many good articles, like this one from the Toronto Star.

There are many things one can do on this day to remember, but I think the most important act each and every one of us can do is mentioned at the end of the article.  Turn to your daughter, niece, sister, Mother, cousin, friend, whoever, and tell her she can be whatever she wants to be.   

And I will not forget the women who were killed, I will say their names.

4 Responses to “20th Anniversary of Montreal Massacre”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    What a sad event. Tonight I will think about those women who lost their lives for nothing more than just trying to be what they wanted to be.

  2. sayingthings said

    I read the article you linked to. I won’t swear in your comments, but it seems an appropriate response. What an awful event.

  3. Heather Joins The Round said

    What a horrible tragedy. I guess the best way to remember is to encourage our girls.

Leave a Reply

