I Need Thrummed Mittens Now!!

December 8, 2009

It is very cold here in the frozen north, and it doesn’t look like its getting any warmer anytime soon.  Add to that the 2 feet of snow we had last Friday, which still hasn’t been cleared from any but the major roads.  Our bus has been 1/2 hr late the last two mornings, which means we stand out there waiting and waiting!  The morning temperatures are pretty cold, -25 oC, or -13 oF, but the wind is not there to make it colder which is nice.  We had a fairly quiet weekend, mostly due to the fact that is was challenging to get my car out of the garage, and down the street which is still full of snow.  I like my neighbourhood in that we could pack in all our plans, stay home, and just walk/trek up to the store for groceries instead.  Even this morning our bus almost got stuck in the snow, spinning wheels for awhile until it got traction again.  I did actually see a snowplow on Saturday, but it was stuck at the side of the road.

I get a kick out of the fact that in the United States the weather forecasters say “…. cold air is coming in from Canada for a cold snap…” while up in Canada they say “… cold air is coming in from the arctic for a cold snap…”.  As a result the Americans blame the Canadians for the cold weather, while we just blame the Arcticans? 

Needless to say, I really need to finish my thrummed mittens in order to keep my hands warm while waiting for the bus for so long.  I’ve finished the first mitten, and am about up to the thumb gusset on the second, but I’ve run out of roving.  I didn’t want to make them too thin, but rather nice and plump, full of insulation against the biting wind.  I’m off to find some more roving at  LYS so that I can finish these up ASAP!

4 Responses to “I Need Thrummed Mittens Now!!”

  1. I want to make some of these so bad. I am swamped with christmas knitting right now though. your mittens look lovely. AND WARM!

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    They are fluffy puffy fabulous! What yarn is that?

  3. Cheryl S. said

    Blame the polar bears.

  4. Jen said

    They look great – as a former Calgarian I can appreciate that in the UK the cold snaps come from Siberia rather than the arctic

Leave a Reply

