Lonely Afghan Blanket

December 11, 2009

I spied this pretty hand crocheted square afghan folded neatly on a bench in downtown Calgary a week or so back on my way over to the library.  There weren’t many people around as it was after five, and the downtown tends to empty completely after normal business hours.  For people like me wandering down Stephen Avenue, over to the library, then to Kensington for Knit Night its a pretty walk to enjoy all the Christmas decorations.  But who left the afghan there, whose was it, did they forget it?  I spent a while pondering the options; did a charity group leave it there in order for a cold person who needed some warmth to find it?  Did someone forget it, I can’t see the person, or people who made it forgetting it.  Was it given to a charity by a crochet group, who gave it to a deserving cold person who then left it on the bench?  I know that in Toronto charity groups tend to leave blankets and sleeping bags in corners for people to find.  What was the story behind the afghan?  And what should I have done?  Should I have picked it up and taken to a charity organization to give it to a deserving person?  Should I have left it there (which I did) for a cold person to find for warmth on a cold night.  And what about the items that I make to give to charity, will then also end up on a bench abandoned?  Or will they find a home and keep someone warm?

What is the right thing to do?  It seems that is a very individual choice that we must each make for ourselves.  I’m going to choose to keep making charity items, and picture the recipient warm and cosy.  What do you think?

7 Responses to “Lonely Afghan Blanket”

  1. Sharon G. said

    Tough call! I think I would have left it there…in hopes that someone who needed it would find it. I’m sure it found it’s way to a deserving recipient.

  2. margene said

    Leaving it there was the right thing in my mind. A person who needs it will most likely pick it up.

  3. Cheryl S. said

    I choose to believe that someone left it there for whomever might need it. And that leaving it there was the right thing to do.

  4. sayingthings said

    Yup, I think leaving it there is best, unless it was snowing fast and thick or something. I doubt it remained lonely and unused for long.

  5. Julie said

    I agree that you did the best thing by leaving it there!

  6. Heather Joins The Round said

    Yes, me, too, I agree that you did the right thing by leaving it there. And as for future charity knitting, I think it’s a little love and warmth cast into the world, and if the first recipient leaves it on a bench, there is another recipient in it’s future. That’s what I think.

  7. annie said

    i would have left it there.

    cycling, this summer, i was shocked to see how much clothing was forgotten or discarded on the bike path. some of it seemed critical.. like say, shoes. i was wondering how sick someone must be to sleep outside and leave their shoes behind. sad.

Leave a Reply

