FO: Snowflake Sweater (pics finally)

December 18, 2009

Well, not only photos finally, but also the zipper sewn in.  The first time I sewed it in I got it askew, which meant I had to rip it out and try again!  Right now its not perfect, and I need to finish a second line of sewing down, but it works.  This is good, as I’ve been wearing the sweater on many days.  The snug fit keeps the heat in, and the cables provide a nice thick insulating fabric.  The overall fit of the sweater is excellent in my mind, except it could be around 1/2 an inch longer so that it doesn’t hit at the top of my pants.  I love the zipper, when Piper gets on my lap and wants to knead on my stomach I can just zip it open until she feels I’m suitably softened up and she can begin her nap. 

(I’m attempting to grow out my bangs/fringe, they are in the awkward in between stage at the moment, hence the bad hair do.)

This pattern is from the Vogue Knitting Fall 1998.  My modifications were to cable everything, instead of doing one band of cables and one band stocking stitch (like totally on purpose, it wasn’t a mistake at all).  What my modification (screw-up) did was make the sweater smaller and fit more snugly, which turned out to be okay!  The size I made was supposed to have a 40 inch bust, and be rather boxy, but now its not!  There is no waist shaping in this sweater, the cables pull the body of it in.  The shoulders stretch out nicely to fit up there as well. 

We finally made it over to the best FO photoshoot location in Calgary in the winter: Bankers Hall!!  Have a good weekend everyone, I’ll be busy getting ready for next week, last minute knitting, shopping etc!!

7 Responses to “FO: Snowflake Sweater (pics finally)”

  1. margene said

    Your version is much better and it looks fabulous on you!

  2. Cheryl S. said

    Awesome! And, dare I say it? It looks store bought.

  3. Jeneane said

    it’s lovely – great work

  4. Anne said

    It looks great – I think the mods you did made it much more flattering!

  5. Julie said

    You just look so cute in that sweater. I love how it turned out!

  6. Sonia K. said

    You make amazing sweaters! Looks fabulous. Merry Christmas

  7. Heather Joins The Round said

    Your mods totally update it! Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

