Toasty Fingers #2- But Not Mine

December 21, 2009

 Another pair of Thrummed Mittens using a Fleece Artist kit for my skating coach.  I think I finally got the hang of my thrumming technique, and these mitts have fairly regularly sized ones.  I still needed to use some of the extra roving I bought on the 2nd thumb, but I didn’t run out of yarn, mostly thanks to making the cuffs four rows smaller on each mitten.  My skating coach is very petite however, and they fit her pretty well.  She spends so much time standing around in cold skating rinks, these should be nice and warm for her.  Especially now that she is getting very pregnant, she can’t move around as much to keep warm.  Well, she can, she is just not really supposed to.  It’s very scary for the rest of us to see her take a tumble. 

On the Christmas present tally I’m now at 2 done, 1 almost there, and 5 more to go.  Two presents need to be finished by Christmas eve, and two others by Boxing Day.  I’m starting to get worried about whether or not I’m going to make it (plus the time it takes to block and dry those presents!!!)  but I’m hoping that some good dedicated work over the next three days should yield many dividends.  Or presents as the case may be.

4 Responses to “Toasty Fingers #2- But Not Mine”

  1. Jen said

    I thought you were just going to embrace the “if I finish… I finish, if I don’t, then who cares” attitude for Christmas?

    Those mittens are lovely.

  2. Julie said

    oh they look warm and a very nice colors!

  3. Katherine said

    I know I keep doing this, but I just have to do it again. Here is one of the randomly generated links on your post:
    http://toastyknits.wordpress.com/2009/06/28/breaking-news-anthropomorphic-toast-crosses-fingers/

    It is actually not too far off (it’s a knitblog!) but the post title slays me.

    Oh, and nice mittens. Good luck with gift knitting. I’ll be embarking on thrummed baby mittens soon (no deadline, though). How much extra ease do you think is needed? Just generally speaking.

  4. Heather Joins The Round said

    Nice mittens!

Leave a Reply

