A Snowy last Day of the Year

December 31, 2009

It’s snowy and cold outside, and we’re cosied up indoors “getting stuff done”.  Yes, unfortunately I said too many “I’ll do that during my vacation” and now its time to actually come through.  Sending out Xmas packages, cleaning the house, visiting friends, getting outside (when it was warmer) organizing my stash, finishing Christmas presents.  But I’m slogging my way through the “to-do” list and feeling very good about it!  This last week has been a good one here in Calgary, and a good way to end the year.  Here we are on Christmas Day in Canmore taking Mr. J’s new skis out for a test run:

The weather was perfect, the views incredible, and the fresh mountain air really does amazing things for your outlook.  We’re hoping to get out once more before we go back to work. 

The first few days of the vacation were spent finishing up some presents that had a deadline.  I discovered that Noro can completely dry in front of the fireplace in 20 minutes, and that nieces don’t really mind slightly damp shrugs.  My favorite present however, the poncho, turned out well and was well received.

The presents for Mr. J’s Mum and grandmother turned out satisfactorily.  The green fuzzy slippers, which I thought were hilarious looking, were dubbed very warm, and another pair requested.  I think the neck scarf was well received, I hope she likes it!

This past year has been an extremely good one for me.  Taking charge of my health, learning new skills, making new friends, and enjoying good vacations.  I think of it as a year where I took a really good look at myself through the eyes of others, and did some good critical review.  I’m trying to be a better person every day, and improve into the ideal which I’d like to be.  It’s hard, some days are worse than others, and I can see myself needing some outside help perhaps through some educational courses on leadership, project management, or even management in order to achieve some of my professional goals.  Mr. J and I, after moving in together, did a really good job of simplifying our lives, and figuring out the balance between ourselves, its been a very positive experience.  Happiness in life comes from small things, and quite honestly while money helps, it can’t make you happy.  Friends, family, a sense of self-worth, warm toes, and fuzzy kitties are where happiness comes from. 

I hope you had a wonderful year, and the next one is filled with happiness, health, and warm toes.

3 Responses to “A Snowy last Day of the Year”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Cheers to a wonderful year – I hope 2010 is even better for you!

    Happy New Year to you and Mr. J!

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    Wow, you really got all that knitting done, how awesome is that!!!

    I love the picture of you two on skis, it looks awesome!

  3. Julie said

    I can’t believe how much you get done. Do you ever sleep! I hope you guys have a wonderful New Years!

Leave a Reply

