FO: Striped Garter Yoke Cardigan

January 7, 2010

At long last we got some photos of this sweater!  I originally finished it up in November for NaKniSweMo. I still don’t have buttons, correction I have some buttons but I’m still not sure if they are the ones I want.  I’m using a really old lizard broach who has green sparkly eyes to hold the top closed.

This may look sorta stylish, but sometimes ma tummy gets cold!  I do look forward to the day when I can button this fully closed and feel the warm snuggle of the black sheep yarn around me.  The Selkirk (from www.ramswool.com) in Winnipeg is heavenly, and feels very close to the original black sheep it came from.  It may have been a white sheep dyed black, but I’m pretending it’s a bad sheep as that is more fun.  I love the green stripes on the yoke, and the 1 inch band of stripes at the hem and bottom of the sleeves. 

Rumour has it we are going to Winnipeg for a cousin’s wedding some time “soon”, I may have to pick up some more Selkirk.  Or maybe some of that fisherman’s wool for a true Aran sweater….  The pattern is from Knit 1. Fall 2008, the garter stitch yoke cardigan.  Extremely easy to make, and from all the photos on Ravelry, flattering on just about everyone! 

I look really pasty today,  I really need to get outside and get some fresh air!.  But my sweater looks nice.

My last Christmas present to myself was delivered on Monday evening.  The postperson must wonder why our mail box is empty instead of packed full of mail I haven’t picked up yet, I was checking for this yarn every day.

I was lucky enough to catch an update at Impulse of Delight in time for some worsted September Lake colourway.  You have to be quick on your feet for that store!  So far I’m planning a Vivian hat from the Brooklyn Tweed pattern collection, and a small scarf to match.  It’s interesting how the photo looks more green than blue, to the naked eye the colour is more in the blue spectrum.

9 Responses to “FO: Striped Garter Yoke Cardigan”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    It’s wonderful! I love the green stripes.

  2. Sandi(Evilknittingtwin) said

    So I’m not the only one that stops at the mailbox when expecting a yarn shippment????? LOL
    Love the new sweater!

  3. Rycrafty said

    That’s a great sweater! I love the contrast stripes. But yes, sweaters in Calgary do indeed need all their buttons. I have a sweater that buttons like yours is in the picture, and yes, it leads to a very cold belly.

  4. Teri said

    LOVE it. Simple and pretty. Hope you find a way to keep your tummy warm with it!

  5. Sarah said

    Oh, her yarn is so incredible, isn’t it? Just this morning I was staring at some of her colours.

  6. Anne said

    That sweater looks fantastic on you! Great score on the yarn. 🙂

  7. Stitch-n-Snitch said

    Gorgeous!! 🙂

  8. margene said

    The the sweater and the stripes of color in the yoke. Ruth’s yarn is so nice, lucky you in nabbing it.

  9. Sonia K. said

    Another beautiful sweater! Oooh, love that Impulse yarn, gotta get me some. Sonia

Leave a Reply

