Rounding the Back Turn…

February 23, 2010

As this is the Knitting Olympics, and there are only 6 more days to finish my sweater, it was time to pull out the stops.  All that training, all those years of knitting, coming down to this one project, this one moment in time.  (start cheesy, inspiring music).  In an act of sheer daring, which I hope will elevate me onto the podium, I have begun knitting both sleeves at the same time.  This is a unprecidented act in my knitting career, where sleeves are usually made one after the other.  This ambitious move may pay off, and I may finish the sleeves before the weekend, or I may see my hopes of a medal dashed as I accidently use the yarn from one sleeves on the other.  In order to raise my game to this height I’m adhering to a strict non-alcohol, non-sugar-rush diet.  Unfortunately all this exciting figure skating coverage is making it difficult to concentrate.  The right front has a hole I fondly call “the mens short program”, and there is a problem with the lace called “ice dancing final”. 

Tonight I will be cheering for Joannie, who lost her mother a few days ago.  I don’t care how she does, I don’t care what place she comes in, I will simply cheer loud, and with great abandon.  I will jump up and down, I will scare my cats, I will hurt my hands, my neighbours may call the police.  I hope everyone joins me, and we show her the love!

4 Responses to “Rounding the Back Turn…”

  1. Julie said

    Still loving that color!

  2. sayingthings said

    Wow, being network-less, I’m out of the loop. I haven’t heard of Joannie, but I feel for anyone who just lost a parent. Maybe I’ll watch it online later.

    You’ll finish that sweater. Not no sweat, maybe, but you’ll get it done. No worry.

  3. Cary said

    You bet I’ll be cheering her on! Go, motherless daughters!

    She made me cry the other night.

    So the front and the back are done? Go, Anne!

    I haven’t looked at the pattern, but I bet it will be cute on you. (I messed up my Ravelry account by changing my name, and I don’t remember my new name. How dumb is that?)

  4. Heather said

    Whoops, my husband was signed in. That was actually me, cheering for the motherless daughters.

Leave a Reply

