Ravelympics 4th Place Finish

March 2, 2010

My sweater was not finished by the end of the last day of the Olympics, but yesterday.  I had one seam to sew up, and five buttons to sew on.  Was it because my ribs were broken, and I had to limp across the finish line, did I miss a gate and get DNF, or was I disqualified unfairly due to a Korean speed skater fouling me?  Nope.  It was because I spent the weekend flying to Stitches, and then going to Stitches West.  Saturday night, as I finished off my room service dinner, ogling my new yarn, watching HBO I knit until I was seeing double, four needle points staring back at me.  I picked up a button band on the wrong side of a front and had to start over.  Seeing reason I went to sleep.  In the morning I finished the last button band, started seaming, but decided to head over for a few hours at the convention before going to the airport. 

Now the sweater is done, and its a tad small, I should have made the bottom bigger.  It does button up, but it pulls, and the button holes are too big for the buttons, so it doesn’t stay shut!  I think a bit of sewing around the button hole ought to take care of that.  I like how it hangs open, and I can pull it around me when its chilly (this alpaca/merino blend is warm!).  It also needs another blocking to get rid of the suitcase wrinkles. 

This sweater pattern is from the Vogue Fall 1998, and is knit with Lano Gatto merino/alpaca blend. 

More about Stitches West next!

5 Responses to “Ravelympics 4th Place Finish”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Yay! I think Stitches West was a good excuse for not quite finishing on time. And you were close! Maybe you can squeeze out a little more width on the bottom when you block it again?

    Hope you had a good time at Stitches.

  2. margene said

    Stitches West was a good excuse and a nice birthday gift. The sweater color is gorgeous and it seems to fit you well. Just give it a pull. 😉

  3. Billy said

    Congratulations, the sweater is beautiful. It looks great open. 🙂

  4. Julie said

    Congrats it looks so good on you!

  5. Heather Joins The Round said

    Pretty! Can you block it a bit wider at the bottom, and maybe just get some bigger buttons?

    Looking forward to seeing your loot! Did you take any classes?

Leave a Reply

