Moab Wrap-up – Part 1

March 23, 2010

No trip to Moab would be complete without a trip to Desert Threads – which is in my opinion one of the world’s best yarn stores.  This is based on the fact that the owner has excellent taste in yarn and colours, which lines up with mine, because doesn’t everyone think they have the best taste in everything?  Of course.   Over the years I’ve found some great yarn/colours here that have turned into favorite projects.  This year was no different, even though I was actually trying hard to only pick out “a little something” and “not go overboard”.  I fell head over heels with the large selection of Peace Fleece, specifically with the green:

Given unlimited budget and knitting time, I probably could have wiped out the stock of pink and orange as well.  The colours “pop” I tell ya!  And the 70% merino, 30% mohair blend sounds scrumptious.  Oh will power, it had no chance against the green.  I’m seeing a lovely aran cabled cardigan in the future.

Mr. J and I had passed by Desert Threads on the Sunday, and I had immediately noticed a “For Lease” sign in the window.  I had a tense day or two until my rest day on Tuesday rolled around, and I returned to do my shopping.  The owner answered that she is moving, but just across the street, and not closing.  Whew, I was pretty worried there.  I tend to call Moab the perfect town since it contains a great yarn store AND multiple bike stores, and I’d hate for it to lose the perfect town designation.  So fellow knitters, fear not, and support a great little place.

4 Responses to “Moab Wrap-up – Part 1”

  1. Heather Joins The Round said

    I think that will look awesome in a cabled pattern!

  2. Anne said

    It’s a perfect springy color when you need a little mid-winter cheering up north of the border. 🙂

    • knittingunderwater said

      The photo doesn’t even to it justice, its an extremely bright green, without having an over amount of yellow in it. Almost like a new leaf colour on a maple tree. I couldn’t resist. I have some aran patterns from the 70’s that might work for worsted yarn, I have to dig them out and check. I had to go back later and get a friend of mine two of the orange skeins for her to make soakers with, she had read the peace fleece was really good for that.

      Take care,

      Anne

Leave a Reply

