Quality Lasts

March 30, 2010

Here is my Dad in his Irish Aran sweater that Mum knit him approximately 40 years ago.  A neighbour went to Ireland, and brought back a quantity of real Irish yarn, which Mum turned into a few sweaters.  This lovely sweater has gotten much wear over the last 40 years, albeit not much in the last ten that my parents have lived in the tropics.  Now that my parents are in Calgary visiting, Dad pulled out this sweater, and brought it along to keep him warm.  He has now been wearing it continuously for 1 week already!  Ahh, spring in Calgary, we start off below freezing, and slowly creep up to a relatively nice temperature, then drop back down once the sun goes down.  I can report that there is no pilling, and aside from some slight discolouration, hardly a sign of wear at all. 

As another example of quality lasting, we celebrated my Dad’s 70th birthday last week.  Hard to believe!

4 Responses to “Quality Lasts”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    My mother still has (and wears) some of her sweaters that are probably almost as old as your dad’s. It’s funny to think of some of those sweaters being almost as old as I am.

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    How nice to know it’s lasted so long. Does it itch? I have a Aran my aunt knit that itches like fire unless it’s 50F. I love wearing it, but outside!

  3. margene said

    The sweater is gorgeous! He’ll wear it forever. You all know how to stay warm.

  4. Teri said

    That is awesome! Gives me hope the sweater I’m struggling with for my husband will be worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

