FO: Tweed Jacket

April 13, 2010

As we learn living in Calgary, it doesn’t matter if you don’t finish your bulky tweed jacket until the end of March; there will still be a few more cold snaps and snow storms to wear it in.

This is the coat from the first Debbie Bliss magazine, utilizing Donegal Tweed Chunky Debbie Bliss yarn purchased at the Boxing Day Sale (used before 1 year passed, woohoo). 

I love the yarn, I love the colour, I love the tweed.  The jury is still out on the collar, its very, very large.  I followed the advice of those who had gone before me on Ravelry and made a much smaller size than I normally would have, and so the body (which may or may not be apparent from these photos, I’m still working on Mr. J, my art director in these photoshoots) actually has a contoured look even though there is no shaping.  It is tight over the bust, and then comes in at the waist, which pleases me.  I need to fix the position of the third button still, which is why the gaping is occurring. 

It sure is warm however, except around the exposed neck area.  However when the office gets drafty I can just roll the super huge collar up and snuggle in.  Since its still snowing on and off, foggy, grey, and generally miserable outside, this coat is getting worn!

2 Responses to “FO: Tweed Jacket”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Very nice! The big collar is a little dramatic, but I bet it leads to lots of compliments.

  2. margene said

    You could pin the collar up when the weather is horrid. It’s a beautiful sweater!!!

Leave a Reply

