FO: Lacy Baktus Scarf

May 13, 2010

Have you made one yet?  They are the must have accessory of the spring season!!  I know, I shouldn’t pretend that I’m the least bit fashionable, but I have been finding the lacy Baktus useful this spring.  Someone asked me if I recommended making the regular Baktus sans holes, or the lacy Baktus with the holes.  My answer was that this light lacy scarf made from 100% merino is too light for our harsh winters, I definitely need my heavier Baktus made from worsted wool and no holes for that.  But for our chilly spring mornings, over a spring jacket, this scarf is just the ticket.  It is made from sock yarn from Pigeon Roof Studios that I got at Stitches West in February, I love the white, purples, and blue colour combination.  I’ve been getting a kick out of pretending that I’m such a trendy knitter because I have Pigeonroof Studios yarn around my neck. 

One of my favorite things, and its something I’ve been doing since I was a teenager, is photoshoots with your friends.  If you want to have an awesome time, and giggle like a mad woman, grab a good friend, insist she stop at an old community center on the way home from your field trip, and have a photoshoot.  Do your best model poses, smile with your eyes, do the turtle to get rid of that double chin.  Ignore the odd car that goes by, with its passengers staring at you!

And most important, end with a jumpity shot!  Thanks Joce, you are the best photoshoot buddy evah!

3 Responses to “FO: Lacy Baktus Scarf”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Great photo shoot!
    And the scarf is very cute.

  2. Sonia K. said

    Hey, your scarf looks symmetrical, mine came out twice as long on one side, seemed to get better on blocking but clearly I decrease way looser than I increase! Nice photos.

  3. Jocelyn said

    hahaha That was SO fun and these pictures will always make me LAUGH! Let’s hurry up and finish more objects so we can go here and take pictures of them.

    http://www.calgaryscience.ca/exhibits/exhibits/bodyworlds/index.php

    Also I absolutely have to make a Baktus now. I have two skeins of Alchemy Migration and it seems to be the perfect project for them.

Leave a Reply

