Oh Baby Its Cold and Rainy Outside

June 17, 2010

I think I’m just not used to this prolonged period of cold rain we’ve been having all week.  Normally it rains a day, maybe two, and then the weather changes again.  However this time we’ve been socked in all week.  With the odd bit of hail to break up the monotony.  The upside, if there is one, is that its not – 40 oC, and I’ve got a good excuse for why the yard work isn’t getting done. 

Instead of pretty summer skirts and dresses I’ve been wearing my winter sweaters and scarves to work, like pictured at the left.  I hope I get to wear my dresses at some point in time, and a pretty sandal or two.  Its been so chilly that instead of starting a pretty lace shawl I started a super thick winter cardigan, the Tall Flower Cardi.

Every four rows, I’ve knit another inch!  What progress!  I may run out of yarn, but since this is local from Custom Woolen Mills I hope I can find something that matches fairly closely.  I may just have to get a different colour brown for the sleeves if I can’t find a close match.  That shouldn’t be that bad!

Today when I got home I put the fireplace on immediately, to take the cold chill out of the air.  It was a popular move I guess for my poor cold fur covered friends.

2 Responses to “Oh Baby Its Cold and Rainy Outside”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Sounds like our weather last week – not as cold, but more than enough rain and hail. Hopefully you’ll get some warm sunny days soon – we’re finally scheduled for some!

  2. Rycrafty said

    I know! I was wearing my winter coat into work this week!
    Then again, being from BC, it did remind me a little of home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

