Baby Knitting Commenced

August 9, 2010

And the baby that I’m knitting for, at long last, is my baby.  I’ll be four months along on Wednesday, and the little munchkin is due to make an appearance January 26th, 2011.  I’m really excited to have a winter baby, that will need about 100 wool outfits to stay warm until summer gets here in July.  And because it is my baby, I can abandon all the rules I use for gift knitting; most outfits will be knit in 100% wool, if we have a girl she will wear blue and look damn good in it, if its a boy he may have some pink thrown in there for flash, and most items will be knit in stronger colours, rather than pastel.  For my first project I’m making a very traditional layette from a 1968 Woman’s Weekly magazine that was my Grandmother’s.  I love making items from these old magazines, I feel like I’m forging a bond between my grandmother who died when I was 16, and my baby.  I’ve chosen a handsome emerald green, which I love for baby items.  This will be the outfit the baby comes home from the hospital in, after my incredibly easy delivery.  Seriously, I’m expecting 20 minutes tops.  After this I have a whole list of items I really want to make, and I honestly should not have been surprised that the list came to me so quickly, and I knew exactly what the first 10 items would be.  All the years of knitting for other people’s babies was just practice for mine. 

Its been a long road for me, and for Mr. J and I to get to this point, and now that it is here, and I’m far enough along to announce the pregnancy, it still hasn’t sunk in.  I have a stack of books to read, classes to sign up for, car seats to decide on, but we haven’t made much headway yet.  As I get bigger every day, and the baby is making its presence known through various methods, I feel overwhelmed about finally being pregnant.  I really didn’t want to have a baby until I turned 29, and then overnight I realized what a biological clock was.  It took many more years, relationships with the wrong people, until I finally lucked out and met the right man.  We started trying to have a baby last summer, as we weren’t getting any younger.  It was a year of disappointment, 12 months over.  It can be so hard, to experience one disappointment after another, and we only had a year of it, unlike the many years other people go through.  Every month I would give myself 2 days to feel sad, then get on with it, same thing when I found out friends were pregnant.  We’re not sure what made the difference in the end, the naturopath I was seeing, vitamins Mr. J was taking, or the other various things there are to try before we could get in to the local fertility clinic,  for which there was a 7 month wait.  I do feel a large factor was quitting my job, and taking 2 weeks off, during which I slept a. lot.  A whole lot.  And got pregnant.  My new employers have taken the news well, and I’m hopeful of being able to come back to work after my maternity leave.  I’m currently planning to take six months, and have Mr. J take off the rest, we’re not sure if there will be 3 or six months left to him.  I got my positive test result just as we got the appointment to the fertility clinic, which I cancelled.

The first three months were very nervous ones.  How could this be smooth sailing as it was so difficult to get pregnant?  Every time I told someone I got so worried, what if tomorrow I lost the baby?  I had mental lists of who knew so that I could call them personally to tell them the bad news.  And how can you keep the pregnancy a secret for 3 months, when it takes up every part of your waking, and sometimes sleeping brain.  I’ve had nausea, and extreme sleepiness, but nothing too terrible.  Giving up biking and skating for this season is hard, but having a baby will be better.  I was surprised at how sore my hips are after just a little walk, and how hungry I am getting.  I’m taking huge lunches to work (snack #1, snack #2, lunch #1, lunch #2) you get the idea.  I’m trying to fill up on good stuff, but the ice cream is sneaking in there! 

So here we go.  Baby Ryder (we’ve been calling the baby that after the Canadian Ryder who came 6th in the Tour this year) this sweater will keep you warm as we take you home.  You are going to have a few other outfits, including a sheep outfit, and you will be the cutest baby this side of Finland.  We’re pretty nervous, as we don’t know much about babies, and are pretty sure we are going to screw up a lot.  But we’ll try, and can’t wait to find out if you are a road rider, mountain biker, or both!

17 Responses to “Baby Knitting Commenced”

  1. Sonia said

    What happy news Anne. Enjoy a little ice-cream every other day and don’t worry.

  2. Congratulations! As someone who also had a rocky road to becoming a parent, I understand a lot of your worries. I wish you all the best–and a reduction in nausea! 😉

  3. Jen said

    So happy for you guys… you will have the best dressed baby in town- I have no doubt.

    I also like how you’ve both agreed to have a very quick labour. So SMART of you!

  4. Heather said

    Oh, Anne, I am just so happy for you and Julian! So happy!

    Make sure you stick to that birth plan ;-).

    I love that the first thing you’re knitting is h/er coming home outfit from the 1968 pattern.

  5. Cheryl S. said

    I’m doing a big happy dance for you – so exciting!

    I’m sure you’ll be great parents, and having that short labor will be an excellent start.

  6. melanie said

    YAY! I’m so happy you announced it on here – I was starting to wonder if I missed it. And I am so happy for you and Mr. J. As one of your friends who gets easily pregnant I know enough to keep my mouth shut around many people who have had trouble in that area and I think I feel more excitement at the thought of actual friends having babies sometimes than I do about getting pregnant myself. That it is a friend who LIVES IN TOWN who is now pregnant is very, very exciting for me. Also, how lovely that our little ones will be only 6 months apart.

    And yes, the ice cream sneaks into my diet a lot – it helps for the late stage heartburn so really it is like medicine. 🙂

  7. Sharon G. said

    I’m so excited for you!!! I wish I had started knitting before Hannah was born…your little one is so lucky to have such a crafty and thoughtful Mama!!!

    Best wishes for a happy and healthy remainder of your 9 months!!!

  8. Sunnyknitter said

    Congratulations! Wishing the best of news and health for the rest of your pregnancy and delivery and, of course, that all your knitting turns out perfectly as well!

  9. Kourtney said

    Congrats! Hip hip hooray for babies in wool and bright colors.

  10. Sandi(Evilknittingtwin) said

    Congratulations!!!!!! So very happy for you!!!! Good luck with that 20 minute labor thing!!!!! LOL

  11. Sarah said

    Congratulations! What a precious person to knit for.

  12. Monica said

    Congratulations Anne! I am so, so, so, so happy for you. Just wait till you can feel that baby moving (next month, probably!), it is the coolest thing in the world. 🙂

  13. sayingthings said

    I am so happy for you! Every time you knit another baby item, I’ve wondered if it was for your own, but didn’t know a tactful way to ask — it can be such a sensitive issue. I am so glad it is working out for you.

    I don’t like to foist advice on people. However, if you ever have any questions about my own experiences, books I liked, etc., just ask.

  14. Daddysgirl said

    Congratulations from one long term TTC’er to another! Here is to a very happy and healthy 9 months!

  15. michaelsomers said

    Oh, Anne, I couldn’t be happier for you and Mr. J. Congratulations! Looking back at your blog entries over the last year, the change in you and your life has really had a deep impact on you. So wonderful to see your life evolve the way it has!

    My partner and I are in the process of adopting. It’s nerve-wracking waiting for a child to enter our world. So many questions, so many hopes. I’m knitting a blanket for our child — mostly bold colors, with a few pastels thrown in for fun, like you’re doing!

    Congrats again!

    Mike

  16. Mom said

    Don’t forget Gramma will be contributing also.

  17. Billy said

    Congratulations! Clearly I´ve been with no internet connection so I only learnt the news today. I´m very, very happy for you and let me tell you that I relate 100% to your getting pregnant saga. 🙂

    I wish you all the best!!! Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

