Wednesday Working Away

September 15, 2010

Its turned cold and rainy here in Calgary, the leaves are changing to their prettiest colours rapidly, and there is actually snow in the forecast.  I’m missing the normal beautiful Calgary September, which is usually the nicest month with sunny skies and fair temperatures.  I’ve been feeling some pretty strong urges to pull all the yarn out of the stash, and cast on for all the projects that I’ve got in mind.  I’m pretty sure I’d like to knit on them all at the same time as well.  Sweaters, hats, mittens, scarves, shawls, baby items, the list is long!  So far I’ve managed to keep it under control, and keep going on what I’m already working on, which is already five projects!  The newest one is my wild green vest:

This vest is just meant to sit over the shoulders, and has no button holes.  I could probably pin it together if I want to.  The pattern calls for thinner yarn that is knit double, but the Noro Retro green that I fell in love with at first sight is thick enough to be knit with a single strand.  This way the periodic stripes show up nicely.  I’m enjoying the daisy stitch, and the big needles after my smaller needle projects, progress is quick!  I had always thought this yarn was going to be a scarf, but I’m really enjoying it as a vest now, it’s going to be a unique piece (hopefully, won’t know until it’s all done!).  I’ll need some more yarn to finish this off, but luckily my LYS has a big stock of Retro, which comes in a few drooliscious colours.  I’m making the large, as I’m getting a bit large now!

4 Responses to “Wednesday Working Away”

  1. Anne said

    LOVE the colorway you picked – yummy. And seriously… I will bet you are not LARGE large. Cuz you are normally tiny.

  2. Jen said

    Large maybe…. but definetely a CUTE large. 🙂

  3. Heather said

    I like how subtle the thin stripes are.

  4. Cheryl S. said

    Pretty color! But I’m sure you’re not large in the areas that the vest covers.

Leave a Reply

