Shroom Hat and Scarf

January 12, 2011

Meet my new favorite cold weather outfit, the Shroom hat and scarf combo made with 4 skeins of Big Merino from Fleece Artist:

I’ve been wearing these, especially the scarf, a lot already now that the temperature has dropped down to a decent -20 oC.  The hat is a pattern from Knitty , Shroom, which I’ve modified a little bit for the different yarn.  I’ve achieved the extra slouchiness by increasing 6 stitches after the 4 inches of ribbing, and going up from 5.5 mm needles to 8 mm needles.  The hat takes 1 skein, and I used almost 3 skeins in the scarf, which Iwanted to go twice around my neck.  It hangs down to the ground on either side when not wrapped up.  I used the same stitch pattern as the hat, but knit flat instead of in the round.  I pulled each end in by starting and stopping the scarf with 4 rows of ribbing on the 5.5 mm needle.  I wanted a ton of fringe, as fringe is really, really awesome, so I made sure to cut all the yarn before finishing the scarf in order to get maximum fringe, and maximum scarf length.  Have I mentioned how much I love the scarf?  I really wanted a chunky scarf this winter, and I think I pulled it off.  Plus I’m really, really warm.

2 Responses to “Shroom Hat and Scarf”

  1. Heather said

    It is fantastic!!!

    -20C is COLD COLD COLD. Brrr. No more whining for me that it’s cold here at 25F!

  2. Heather said

    PS do you have a picture of the back/top of the hat?

Leave a Reply

