Wedding Knitting

April 27, 2011

With the days counting down quickly to our wedding now, I’ve started my wedding knitting.  I’m pretty sure I won’t get all three projects done, so I’m starting with the most important one, my wedding stole.  I’ve stuck with the plan of knitting Bleeding Hearts Stole, but I have changed my mind on colours.  Instead of a green stole, I’m now using white lace merino yarn.  With my orange flower bouquet, I was of the opinion that it would be too much colour to also have green shoes and stole. 

I’m making both sides at once, using two balls of yarn that I wound up, hopefully equally using my scale.  In this way the day before the wedding I can bind off wherever I am, stitch the two pieces together and walk down the aisle.  The main pattern graph is to be repeated 10 times, but we’ll see how far I get!  I’m hoping to knit another stole for my Matron of Honour, but I’m not going to be upset if I don’t get that finished, but I would be upset if my stole isn’t done! 

The wedding plans are going ahead, and this Friday I’m going to look for a dress!  This is exciting and nerve wracking for me, but I’m sure my Matron of Honour will give me good advice if something looks horrible.  We’re heading down to Fernie soon for our first family trip away with the baby, and to finalize all our plans.  This will be good practice for us to start with a smaller trip, as we have some other trips planned. 

I’m really looking forward to the wedding, and seeing not only family but some old dear friends.  One of my dearest friends moved back to Sweden right after university, and the last time I saw her her son was 3 months old.  He just had his ninth birthday!  She and her family are all coming for the wedding, and I’m so excited to see her I tear up almost every time I think about it.  It is going to be a wonderful time, and I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

