Back at the MS Ride

June 14, 2011

After having to miss last year, which caused me great upset, I made it back again this year!  Mr. J had to give up a race he wanted to enter, and I could tell he was very nervous about having to look after the baby for a minimum of 4 hours during the day without me being readily accessible.  This is not because he is a bad Dad, or is not willing, it is just that Althea cries very often when I’m not around, she lasts about 1/2 hour in fact before crying inconsolably.  Or crying until I come back that is.  It is very hard for a Dad to listen to their baby cry, and know that they can’t do much about it as she is just crying for her mother.  Therefore we weren’t sure that I would be able to do the whole ride, or even if the weather would hold as it had rained almost all day Saturday.  But what a surprise, it only rained a tiny bit, and Althea did really well with her Dad, having two naps during the day with him in the car.  We met up at every rest stop so that I could feed her and spend some time so that she knew Mummy wasn’t really that far away.  Mr. J’s mood lifted during the day from one of dread to one of confidence and pride that he had managed his daughter quite well, and soothed her to sleep not once, but twice.  The second time she cried a bit (maybe a lot) but once he took her out of the car, and began wheeling her around at a rest stop she fell right asleep.  So we did it!  The one day tour is around 84 km, but the guide says 94 km, and I finished in good time, just before a huge storm came in actually.  It felt so good to be out for a long ride, I sped up hills, I hammered down them, I felt the wind, I enjoyed the scenery, I chatted with other riders, and just pure enjoyed myself.  Plus I wasn’t even that sore the next day!

Leave a Reply

