The Wedding Recap Edition

July 3, 2011

Althea had been screaming for a half hour, and I couldn’t get her to stop.  She was so tired after 3 days of meeting Grandparents, Aunties, Uncles, cousins, friends, and she had been such a trooper until just then, but it seems it had all built up into a big melt down.  This was at 3:30 pm, and the wedding was scheduled to begin at 4 pm.  As the guests were starting to arrive I bundled up all our things and scrambled downstairs to where we were supposed to finish getting ready.  Sofie tried to finish putting make-up on me as I shushed, rocked, and tried to soothe my little baby, who just needed a moment to fall asleep.  A desperate message was sent out to the favorite auntie (my brother’s wife) to come and help, Althea was soothed, and dressed while I finished getting ready.  Favorite Auntie worked her magic, and then my Matron of Honour took over to carry Althea up the stairs to the loft where all the guests were assembled, the official was waiting to do the ceremony (she claimed she could do it in 12 minutes) and my favorite groom were waiting.  On the dot of four the flowers girls, MOH, and then my father and I started up the stairs.  Althea was the charming baby she normally is, quiet, smiling, probably sticking her tongue out at people, and not a peep much less a screaming sob out of her.  The ceremony may have been longer than twelve minutes but I don’t quite remember as I hadn’t calmed down after the rush the last hour had been.  Suddenly I was married to the man of my dreams, we both had glistening eyes, and we enjoyed a kiss. 

The best part of the day was honestly when we went to do photos outside the lodge, as Althea fell asleep as soon as she was in the car seat, and slept for an hour.  When she has a good nap I can finally relax and enjoy myself.  We took the full time for photos, and now that I’ve seen them, we got some really, really good shots.  The wildflowers which the lodge provided were mostly lilacs which are my favorite and smelled wonderful.  The dinner was nutritious and delicious.  I got my wedding morning bike ride in, and Julian got his, but he didn’t wear a tiara like we did.  One woman banged part of her tiara off on some tree branches, which was pretty funny.  I got to spend wonderful precious time with my friends, who were so kind to travel out to Fernie for the wedding.  My dear friend from Sweden, who I have not seen in nine long years, spent a week with us, which was so much fun.  We had family enjoy themselves, and family complain, which we expected.  I developed a fun new technique of pretending the complaints were actually compliments.  “There isn’t that much in Fernie” was answered with ‘Yup, it sure is a great little town isn’t it!”.  This new technique is making me very happy.

Mr. J and I are now at home by ourselves, and enjoying married life.  So far this involves looking after our baby (who is now sitting up, rolling from front to back as well as back to front, and really wanting to crawl) watching Le Tour, not cleaning, and trying to unpack our suitcases.  We’ll get back into the swing of thing eventually but right now we’re enjoying some good relaxing time.  Aaahhhhh!  I’ve so much more to tell you over the next little while! 

12 Responses to “The Wedding Recap Edition”

  1. Mel said

    Your wedding was lovely Anne! The smile that you had on your face will live in my mind forever. I’m so glad you two found each other and can make each other so happy.

  2. I’m very happy for the three of you!

  3. Sharon G. said

    I love the photo!!! Congrats again!!!

  4. Jen said

    Anne! You look beautiful! Congratulations! There’s so much to catch up on! We’ll have to do lunch soon!

  5. Ana said

    Congratulations! I love the look on Althea´s eyes. 🙂

    All the best!

  6. carla said

    Congrats Anne, Julian and Althea!

  7. margene said

    Congratulations!
    You have such a beautiful little family. Here’s to many, many happy years together.

  8. Sarah said

    Congrats!

    Love the idea of tiara bike ride. *Love* it!

  9. Sunnyknitter said

    You all look fabulously happy! Congrats, wishing you every possible joy life has to offer.

    (And gorgeous job on the lace too.)

  10. Heather said

    Warmest congratulations to you all! How lovely!

  11. Katherine said

    What can I say? Yay!

  12. Mary said

    Congratulations ! Anne, you absolutely radiate with happiness! Love this photo of your new family.

Leave a Reply

