Wedding Stole and Bouquet

July 5, 2011

 My wedding stole and bouquet turned out much better than I had hoped.  With lace you really never know the finished product until you get it all washed, and pinned out.  Then you say “wow, that really is long”, and then “Golly that sure is pretty”.  The pattern is Bleeding Hearts by Anne Hanson, from the Spring 2008 Interweave magazine.  The yarn is a merino laceweight, which had been a gift from the mighty Miss Joce.   I felt very bride-like wearing the stole for the ceremony, and during the photographs it kept my shoulders warm.  We were caught in a bit of a rain storm, therefore the warmth was appreciated. 

 The flowers for the bouquet were crocheted by my mother from alpaca yarn.  100% wool would have been better but I couldn’t find a good orange colour in any other yarn (and I looked in all the Calgary yarn stores).  The pattern is for the trumpet flowers from Nicky Epsteins Crocheted Flowers.  I felted them, along with the leaves, and then added the beads into the middle.  For the stems I used floral wire, which Mr. J wrapped at the top.  I then wrapped all the stems together in electical tape.  They stayed together very well!  For the flower girl bouquets I had one flower in each that didn’t have the smaller flower inside.  These flowers became the groom and best man pins.  I tied our rings inside these flowers so that my nieces carried flowers and our rings.  I had just used a simple bow and piece of yarn, but it still seemed harder than it should of to untie them, but our officiant managed to get them out!  Plus with them being tied in my nieces couldn’t lose the rings.  I was very pleased with how these turned out, and again I felt quite special.  The Matron of Honour stole turned out a bit short, I should have done many more repeats.  As it was superwash yarn I was expecting it to stretch more than it did.  The dark green colour did look wonderful in photos however, and kept my MOH shoulders warm in the rain!  I’m hoping she will find a use for it this winter.  So very happy wedding crafting for me!

2 Responses to “Wedding Stole and Bouquet”

  1. margene said

    The shawl is beautiful and you look marvelous wearing it. You had the perfect bouquet for so many reasons! It is all beautiful!

  2. Heather said

    Love the handmade bouquet, and the stole is perfect!

Leave a Reply

