WIP….Sunday?

August 7, 2011

Better early, or late than never for a WIP update!  For some crazy reason I have been getting up at 6 am on the weekends as well, just after I feed Althea.  By then it is light, I wake up fully as I feed her, and it is easy to not go back to sleep.  The last two nights have seen a bit of a breakthrough around here – Althea has fallen asleep in her crib on her own rather than on me.  I would also like to mention that she did it last night without hardly any crying, the night before there were a few crying sessions to soothe her through.  This means she is falling asleep earlier, and sleeping longer, which in turn means I get a nice long chunk of 4-5 hour sleep before I get up the first time to feed her.  It truly can make you feel like a new person to get that much sleep, and then I get another hour or so until she wakes up again and it is six am! 

I got up, made some coffee, cereal, and came downstairs to the basement to what I’m now referring to “My Knitting Pod”.  In the basement bedroom I have all my crafty supplies in the nice big closet, which is wide open as we haven’t gotten a door for it yet.  My little bookshelf which holds all my knitting/crafty books is just in front.  I’ve pulled up a chair, I’ve got a rubbermaid container which houses odds and ends of old yarn and fabric to put my coffee on, and a table for my computer.  I’ve been listening to podcasts and knitting, it is like a little slice of heaven my pod! 

After I finished up my wedding knitting, I started going back and finishing up projects that had gotten put down, namely the sheep suit. Althea is too big for this now, but I am finishing it up in hopes that another little babe will wear it one day, besides it is too cute to leave undone.  I just need to sew on the ears and tail, and get some buttons for it. 

 I started a sweater called Buttercup by Heidi Kirrmaier, from a lovely shade of Alpaca Drops.  It has a clever yoke construction, and then is knit in one piece down to the bottom. There is finishing on the arms and neckline at that point.  I had great deep thoughts on what size to make this sweater, given my post-pregnancy body, which I plan to cover in some other posts.  I’ve long admired this designer, who has a lovely clean aesthetic, but in the last few weeks I’ve gone off the deep end, and am thinking about making another 3 or 4 of her patterns.  I’ve actually linked above to her pattern catalog, there are so many good ones in there.  I’m hoping there is an Atelier in my near future, have you noticed she is from Calgary? 

Then I just couldn’t help it, I cast on with yarn I bought three (gulp) years ago at the Olds Fibre Fest, six skeins of worsted weight merino, alpaca and silk. I have been wanting to knit it for, yeah three years, but I had planned on doing a unique design which is what always stops me.  It is so much easier to cast on and follow a pattern then to sit down and make your own, even if you have the percentage system to follow.  But then I had a breakthrough, which led to me casting on.  The gauge was the same as the cardigan of a twinset I made awhile ago, out of a horrible yarn.  BUT the cardigan is a great design, and fits flawlessly, I could even try it on to make sure it still fits me.  The plan is to put a bit of a design on the front lapels, which I will do last.  I’m still trying to decide what to do: sine waves, diamond pattern, a little repeating picture…

I have two socks on the needles for little go to projects, and recently took “Itty Bitty Toys” out of the library and fell down that hole hard.  I’ve already got a monkey on the needles, with plans for a hippo to follow soon.  After that I’m fascinated by the reversible toys, they are so cool!  I think I will need to purchase the book after all!  I normally never make stuffed toys in the obvious colours, but I have two balls of brown, and two of grey sock yarn that I hated and wanted to get rid of.  Ta da!  Perfect monkey and hippo colours!  I’m using them doubled to get rid of the yarn faster. 

I seem to have a lot I’m working on, as this is taking forever to finish up.  In other obsessions, I’m also busy thinking about making another Tempest, as I have more sock yarn that doesn’t want to be socks and grey Kroy, and then I found the Paulie pattern.  Another one perfect for four balls of Kroy I have (why?  Oh yeah, it was on sale) and more sock yarn that violates the “it must have nylon in it to be socks” rule.  Besides, I love wearing my Tempest, which is perfect in the cool Calgary mornings over your t-shirt that you will need by 10 am.  Back to my pod!

3 Responses to “WIP….Sunday?”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    I’m sure you’ll enjoy Buttercup – I really like my Grapevine.

  2. Heather said

    Wow, I can’t believe you have time to knit. That is awesome.

    I fully agree with the nylon rule.

  3. Jen said

    My Mother in Law fell down that same whole. She’s made both the hippo and the monkey and both are ADORABLE.

Leave a Reply

