Bachelorette Tea Party

August 12, 2011

Going way back now to before the wedding.  I’ve been meaning to tell you about this for awhile, but just never seemed to find the time!  (In other exciting news, not only is Althea putting herself to sleep at night, she napped in the crib this week for Daddy!).  I had the idea sometime last year that I wanted to do something “bachlorettey” but that with nursing Althea, that something just couldn’t include a wild party with lots of crazy shots, or any alcohol really.  Plus I think my days of dancing on the table at Elvis’s in Singapore, while it was super fun at the time, are over.  I don’t want to go out for boozy evenings anymore, which take days to recover from, I may just be too old.  (Right now I’m taking a minute to remember some of those boozy evenings, and while some were a bit out of control, some were indeed SUPER FUN).  Besides, most of my friends that I wanted to invite just aren’t big drinkers, or interested in boozy nights either.  Also, I don’t have much interest in having any “entertainment” of the scantilly clad male variety, other than my now husband.  Truly.  Okay, there are exceptions, but Mr. J is well aware of them.  (Alex Skarsgard, that one is for you).  But Tea!  We all like tea, and tea parties are fun.  Another thing that is really fun is pastry!  Yummy yummy pastry, of extremely good quality. 

 I began the search to find the best quality pastry in Calgary, which wasn’t easy I tell you.  I had to go to many, many pastry shops, and sample many, many pastries.  I finally decided that our local Belgium pastry maker, Manuel Latruwe just couldn’t be beat, and placed a nice big order.  My MOH had been busy scouring local thrift shops for antique tea cups, and found our cookie stand, along with some tea pots.  Everyone got a unique tea cup, a choice of a few different teas, and then we dug in.  And dug in some more.  At we chatted, and chatted and chatted.  I had such a wonderful time, and shared so much laughter, and enjoyed everyone’s company to such a high degree, I’m still chuckling over some of the things today.  Much superior to a boozy feather boa filled evening in Vegas, and we didn’t wake up to find a tiger in our bathroom the next day.  Just leftover pastries (not in the bathroom, the fridge). 

 Plus, I got the Queen cup, which made me feel very special indeed!

4 Responses to “Bachelorette Tea Party”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    I like those teas in the bottles at the back of the table. 😉

    Sounds like it was perfect! And oh, poor you. Having to go sample pastry after pastry…

  2. Rycrafty said

    Yum! Everything looks delicious! Just the right type of bachelorette party. My bridesmaids treated me to a mani/pedi followed by fondue for our celebrations. 🙂

  3. Heather said

    I love that you had the Queen cup!

  4. melanie said

    It was, indeed, a lovely party. And thank you so much for making a vegan cake too – something you definitely didn’t need to do considering it was YOUR bridal shower. : )

Leave a Reply

