1st Christmas Stocking

January 2, 2012

This year, the year of first Christmas’s, there were a lot of things I wanted to do, and a lot of things that I didn’t get done.  I didn’t get Mr. J’s present finished (only really 1/4 of the way), I didn’t even finish Althea’s present, even though now it is being blocked and waiting for buttons. (Birthday present?).  I didn’t do the baking I had promised Mr. J, I didn’t make the big dinner for Christmas Eve that is traditional in his family (we made it Boxing Day).  We had pie instead, just pie, no dinner.  (But if GGM asks, we had  a full turkey dinner with all the fixings, and sourkraut soup as is their tradition).  Here on my last day of vacation I still have a daunting list of things I had wanted to do.  One thing I did do: spend time with my family, let things go to stop stressing out, and get Althea’s stocking done on time.

 I still cannot believe how well this turned out, as I’m not a very good sewer.  I cut out all the pieces according to the pattern that I managed to snag, as the Christmas patterns were in short supply, found some letter patterns online for the name, had to go back for batting.  In nothing short of a miracle my sewing machine sewed through a number of layers of material and batting.  I had a really hard time figuring out the pattern, but somehow it worked, and the last step where I turned the lining inside out to reveal a finished stocking was nothing short of a Christmas miracle.  I really liked the lining, which is material that is slated for my and Mr. J’s stocking (that will hopefully be finished for next year).

 My stocking will have little mittens, and Mr. J wasn’t too keen on his until I pointed out it had balls (Christmas) on it.  He then deemed it manly enough.  We filled the baby’s stocking with an apple, orange, some cookies, socks, and Mum-mum’s.  She was particularly enamored of the apple, and not so happy with the bite of the orange she took.  We then peeled it and she was more impressed.  I taught Mr. J how to put out cookies, milk, and carrots for the reindeer (which he promptly turned into light sabers and had a little fight with his daughter, sigh, boys).   Althea hung her stocking with care. 

 And a perfect first Christmas, without all the other stuff, was born.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, filled with teeny tiny miracles, like your sewing machine working when you really need it.

2 Responses to “1st Christmas Stocking”

  1. margene said

    So cute, so perfect for a first! Althea has a great mom!

  2. Heather said

    Love the carrot light saber fight! Hope you had plenty of time to relax over your break. The stocking is adorable.

Leave a Reply

