A Real WIP Post, and Even on a Wednesday

May 9, 2012

I am completing neglecting my other work, like my real job work, in order to spend time on the internets having fun.  It feels very rebellious!  It can be hard to find the motivation to work another hour or so after Althea goes to sleep, and some nights I just can’t do it.  I checked my e-mail however, but I can’t really put that on my time sheet.

Onto the works in progress!  I have a number of things on the go, firstly because it makes me happy, and secondly because I have a need for a few different projects.  I need something more complicated, something for the purse, I want to make a sweater, and I need something simple I can work on quickly in 1-5 minute parcels of time while Althea is playing.  She tends to play by herself for a little while, and then comes back over to me to reconnect, then goes off to play again.

 My Harvest Moon sweater is coming along nicely.  I’ve tried it on and it fits well up top.  I’m making it a little bit longer to hit lower than my waist, I’d like it to be at the mid hip area.  I’m almost, almost to the bottom of the pockets.  On Monday when it was warm I was thinking I would need to put it down, but now I can see some snow mixed in with the rain outside my window, and I have more time to work on this.

 This is an Adamas shawl made from baby alpaca, silk and cashmere, highly rated by me for softness, I love the gold colour.  Not making much progress on this, even though I would love to have it already to wear in the cool mornings.

 This is the third of these hats with brims.  I loved the first one I made, which of course I don’t have photos of yet, and began digging up skeins of worsted weight yarn to turn into more hats!  Not sure what I will do with them, but my baby group asked for one each the other day after seeing the pattern.  If the brim hat mania continues, and I keep digging for worsted weight skeins in the stash, it just might happen.  These hats are perfect for picking up and putting down quickly, and a few minutes here and there can make, well, a hat!

My purse project is a monkey sock, which I don’t have a photo of, but it is turning out rather well!  I have a few other projects tucked here and there, but I’m not really working on them much.  One day I’ll get back to them!

2 Responses to “A Real WIP Post, and Even on a Wednesday”

  1. Cheryl said

    Glad to see you’re still knitting!

  2. Heather N said

    You’re inspiring me! I have knit maybe 20 rows on a plain stockingette triangular shawl since starting work at Kearns in February. Who knew this work/life balance would be so tough?

Leave a Reply

