Playing in my Backyard

June 3, 2012

Once upon a time this blog featured many a photo from the mountains after my weekend biking trips.  Alas, not so much anymore but I did manage to get out for a ride to Banff last weekend.  It was wonderful, and the trail around Lake Minnawanka is all around excellent.  Technical, with not too much climbing for an out of shape Momma like myself.  We had some snow, tiny bit of rain, and beautiful, beautiful views.  I just missed out on seeing a mountain sheep run across the trail according to the lady behind me, or perhaps I just missed colliding with one?  We saw many deer, and no bears which is very good as this trail gets closed down for the summer due to the grizzly bear activity.

I miss doing bike rides like this, and yet the 1.5 hr drive out there, and the drive back killed me.  I really hated being away from Althea that long, especially since the weekend is precious to me now.  During the week I get little time with her, I hate using up the weekend without spending it with her.  I hope to do more weekend riding, but closer to home I think.

2 Responses to “Playing in my Backyard”

  1. Heather said

    Good for you! Greet the glorious Canadian Rockies for me, my family and I miss them.

    It IS hard to take some time for yourself.

    Also glad you didn’t hit the sheepies.

Leave a Reply

