We’re still at it….

November 21, 2012

 She is 22 months old, and still nurses in the morning and at night.  She loves it, what can I say?  This weekend when she was sick, she nursed almost all the time, and really wanted to sleep attached, which was the only way to get her to sleep at times.  (She fell at daycare, split her lip which resulted in stitches, and then she had a reaction to the sedation medication, and a full body rash, all is well now).  She now asks for “milk” when she wants it, and is very impatient as most toddlers are.  If the “milk” is not forthcoming immediately, she is screaming on the floor.  We are working on “patience”, but I feel that is a slow train coming, and only maturity will bring it.  When she nurses her bottom hand is generally tucked up into me, and the other hand roams, in my mouth, my hair, my nose, it roams freely around it’s territory of Mummy.  The hair cannot be in a pony tail anymore as she yanks it out.  Oftentimes she wants her bare feet in my hair as well, she seems to love my hair.  Nursing her can be wonderful, peaceful, beautiful, annoying, painful, inconvenient, soothing, and rewarding.  I don’t have much milk anymore, but she honestly doesn’t seem to mind.  It is her security, her comfort, her safe place, and I won’t take that away from her even if some days it gets hard.  I have no idea when we will stop, but when we do I will miss it terribly.

One Response to “We’re still at it….”

  1. Heather said

    What a beautiful thing it is to be part of a nursing pair.

Leave a Reply

