Our Intrepid Conference Attender Goes North of 60-to Yellowknife

November 28, 2012

There I am, do you recognize me?  Of course not, it is 10 am in the morning in Yellowknife, it is -28 oC, and I am about to take my glasses off as I couldn’t see due to the fogging up from my breath.  I had to have my cowl pulled up so high to avoid the cheek freeze.  I was out on a leisurely stroll from New Town to Old Town to check out some stores and take a few photos before we caught our plane back down south.  Isn’t it funny how leisurely strolls don’t really happen when it is that cold, you just walk very, very fast until you finally get to where you are going.

This is 11 am, looking across Great Slave Lake.  They aren’t going full dark, but they don’t get much light this time of year.  We didn’t see any Northern Lights due to clouds, our conference schedule (must network!!) and my need to go to sleep at 9 pm.  Poor boss guy, he is a night owl and likes to sleep in.  I go to sleep early, and am up at 6 am, ready to head off on the next adventure (which is usually breakfast).  He does have a good trait in that he likes his food, try not to work for a boss who skips lunch, or other meals.  It is not fun going hungry when one is braving such cold weather, or making small talk with operators from the high arctic.

Even though we were very busy at the conference chatting with people from all over the north, and learning about their water, wastewater, and solid waste issues, we got a little bit of time to sample the local cuisine, scenery, and do some shopping.  I got caribou antler buttons!  We had arctic char, bannock, these yummy oat cakes, but didn’t try any musk oxen.  I was torn about whether to sample the latter, as I’m not familiar with where they are raised, or whether their consumption is ethical or not.  I like to know these things.  It was the best conference food we had ever had.

Two messages stood out for me from the keynote speaker: gargage as a resource, and that we are in the plastic age.  He spoke about being out in the barrens, far from anything, and having a plastic bag blow by.  Keep that image in your head for awhile.

Yellowknife is full of art, and has beautiful dramatic vistas.  I only took a few photos due to finger freezing problems.

Leave a Reply

