Christmas Past and Present

December 21, 2012

I am doing really well in the Christmas preparations this year!  Yeah Me!.  I only made two presents, and both are done, except I need to sew the buttons on Althea’s sweater.  She has already tried it on, and seemed to love the bright colours and it fit well, which means it is a win and I’m happy.  I’ve made some cookies, I’ve gotten some custom Christmas cards even though I haven’t sent any out yet, I’ve been stocking up the pantry/freezer, and I’m busy finishing up my and J’s stockings.  There is a lot of sewing to be done on the stockings, but I have four whole days to do it!  I’m pretty confident I can get these done, as they are the same as the stocking I made Althea last year, and I have already figured out how to do it, if I can remember.  My motto is as always aim low and celebrate big when you get things done, it makes for a much happier, lower stress me.

I keep thinking back to last year, and I don’t really know how I was surviving back then.  When I was doing it I didn’t realize how hard it was as I was in survival mode, but looking back, whew-ee!  I was getting out to work at 6:15 am, and coming home around 4 pm.  I would look after my daughter, get her dinner, bath, and get her to sleep between 8 and 9 pm.  I would then have 0-60 minutes to myself before I collapsed into bed.  During that time I was trying to make stockings, do Christmas preparation, clean, cook dinners, make Christmas cards, make a sweater for Althea, and oh yeah, relax.  Ha, ha, ha, ha.  Even looking back a year later I’m laughing hysterically, it was a very stressful time.  To make matters worse Christmas was on a Saturday, so I had no days off before hand to help, but was working full time every day.  I was supposed to produce a big Christmas Eve dinner, special meals on Christmas day, plus everything else, AND work.  We had just gotten our big order at work, plus all the other myriad of things I try and do, and all the extra Christmas things.  Hysterical I tell you.  Needless to say I had to cancel the Christmas eve dinner, didn’t send out Christmas cards, barely got Althea’s stocking ready, made a couple of cookies for Santa but no more, and was sobbing hysterically in the shower a few times from the stress of it all.

In short, this year is so much better.  Althea gets to sleep around 7 pm which leaves me 1-3 hours before I collapse into bed.  I usually work relaxing time into the nighttime routine which is so necessary for me.  People have been asking me my plans for the week off coming up and I answer; sleep and relaxing time with my family.  Nothing big or earth shattering.  I am looking forward to it immensely, especially the sleep part.

One Response to “Christmas Past and Present”

  1. Cheryl said

    Sorry you had such a tough time last year, but glad to hear it’s better this time around.

Leave a Reply

