Updating the Stash -2013 Edition

January 7, 2013

I have to admit, I had been looking forward to this for awhile.  When I added all the stash in that I hadn’t done yet, what was my new total going to be?  My goal last year had been to go from the 47,000 yards in my stash tally to below 40,000 yards.  I was close, if you consider being over 1400 yds high close, plus a bunch of new yarn that hadn’t been accounted for yet.  My yardage knit for the year was calculated to be 6500 yds, but that didn’t count anything that I had purchased during 2012, and knit immediately.  I will give myself props for having knit a lot of what I bought last year immediately.

I had a blast during one nap time photographing the new yarn, the old yarn that still didn’t have photos, and adding it all into my stash.  I then exported it all to Excel once all was accounted for, and waited with baited breath for the new tally.  Would I be higher than last years starting point?

47 825 yards.

Over last years by a tiny amount!  Yeah, not bad at all compared to the huge numbers I had worried about.  Then I few days later I realized there was going to be a charity sale in the near future who would like donations of yarn, and there were a few items that I really, really, really didn’t want to knit with.  Partial skeins with enough yardage left to make something decent, but my first project with then had sucked my will to keep knitting it just to finish it up.  Once I took those out:

46 975 yards!

Lower, yeah!!  My goal remains to get the stash number below 40 000 yards.

I did make it out to a Boxing Day Sale, but not my regular place, I went over to Gina Brown’s instead.  I was doing okay and hadn’t seen anything I had to have until this:

CollinetteI have a weakness for the Colinette colourway that is a grey base with multiple colours running through it.  In other confessions, another woman had started to pick one of these up, and I suddenly grabbed eight skeins before I could stop myself!  Don’t worry there were a few left for her!  I also picked up a nice chunky ball of Noro that will make a nice quick hat, some needles, and high tailed it out of there!  I timed it well with no wait to pay, a few minutes later the line was snaking around the store.

I have had to admit to myself that I have way too much sweater quantity yarn, and it is all things that I really want to make.  As much as I would like to buy some more yarn to make some more sweaters, I really, really, need to make what I have already.  It is with a sad heart that I find myself determined not to buy more yarn until I make a few of these sweaters that I really, really want.  Good-bye lovely yarn stores, I promise to knit fast and see you soon!

Leave a Reply

