And Yet More Hats, but One is a Birthday Hat!!

January 23, 2013

Pink hatOnce again I’ve been making hats, such a nice break from big sweaters!  Althea’s pink hat that I made her as a newborn does not fit her anymore, which is sad as she keeps trying to put it on.  I had saved this skein of pink Fleece Artist Big Merino for the next size up bobble hat, and let me tell you, I am giddy over the result.  I’m not sure if it is the colour, all those lovely bobbles, or the extra big and floppy pom-pom, but I LOVE IT.  All the caregivers at daycare love it.  And my daughter loves it!  Whew on that one.  My advice remains the same: when one finds big merino, buy it it makes the best hats and accessories imaginable.

Blue hatI also made a sunflower hat out of leftover Blackstone Tweed.  It is a very satisfying hat pattern from the Issue of Vogue Knitting with all the hats from a couple of years ago.  I made a bunch and gave them away, now I’m making them again for ME.  And I keep giving my hats away.  This pattern is fun, start with bobbles, make some petals, finish up with 4″ of ribbing.

And did I mention the birthday?  The big 2?  My little tiny baby is 2?  We had a wonderful party for her, and I have to admit I love 2 year old birthday parties more than grown up parties.  You get to go tobogganing, do crafts, eat cupcakes, pizza, chips, hang out with other amazing kids, and play with BALLOONS.  Yup, Althea loved the ballons, our house is still covered in them, although the cats are diligently popping them one by one.

I tell ya, this little girl is a whole big package of awesome.  How did we get so lucky?  I pinch myself daily to make sure it isn’t all a dream.

Althea at her 2nd birthday!

2 Responses to “And Yet More Hats, but One is a Birthday Hat!!”

  1. melanie said

    That bobble hat with the crazy pom-pom is awesome!

  2. Cheryl said

    That red hat is absolutely adorable! Happy Birthday to Althea!

Leave a Reply

