Some Finished Objects Brought to you by an Early Bed Time

October 16, 2013

Striped sweaterThe early bed time is not mine, it is Fia’s!  Lately she has been asleep by 8 pm, as opposed to during the summer when she was up until 9 pm or later.  A good side effect of the early dark nights now!  She is also falling asleep quickly, almost as if she finally understands this is the time to sleep, boom!  Five minutes later.  I have been finishing up stuff all summer, especially the month of September, and I have photos for some, and need to take some more photos!  This little sweater is based on a free Lion Brand basic sweater pattern, and was a nice way to use up extra Cascade Pacific.  I can recommend this yarn, especially for gift items.  It is soft, superwash, and comes in a lot of nice colours.  The one downfall of this pattern is that it is way to wide for my skinny girl, but it fits her none the less.

With ladybugsThe little lady bug buttons were bought of all places at the Cold Lake Wal-Mart.  I had to go there to buy new needles for one that had broken in my purse, which I didn’t discover until we started the 2 hour drive from Lloydminster to Cold Lake.  Other than Wal-Mart there isn’t much selection in that town.  I convinced my boss we needed snacks for the long day, as we didn’t know how long we would be working.  I have a bit more experience working I the middle of nowhere than he does, and since my chocolate melt-down in Peace River I like to be prepared.  The meltdown involved me realizing there was no chocolate within 1 hour of me, and no idea how long we would be working that night.  I freaked the freak out, and by the next day there were chocolate bars all around.  Also: bears.  Serious stuff yo.  I think the ladybugs add a nice little detail to the cute sweater, and they are very appreciated by the two year old.  And next time you see my two year old, ask her how old she is.  She says “six” every single time.  I can’t convince her otherwise, it is very amusing.  Also: good thing about my boss is he hasn’t figured out yet when I am just trying to get him to do something so that I can visit a yarn store, or get knitting tools.  Unlike a certain husband.

Leave a Reply

