Me: Professional Engineer and now Professional Sock Model!

July 9, 2014

10463912_662697057133807_3219900268314432081_nAren’t those pretty socks and shoes?  The shoes are one of my first pairs of Fluevogs, purchased in May at their sale.  I have never received so much attention for my shoes before!!  I wore them out of the store, to a meeting, at which the secretary commented on them, on a flight to Fort McMurray, where all the flight attendants commented on them.  I bought them as they coordinate perfectly with a dress I have, they look crazy good together!

Now the socks are really special, I am just modeling them here, but my skein of yarn and the pattern are on their way soon.  We had a knitting party at the local Fluevog store!  It was a lot of fun.  I started to hear about other Fluevog stores having knitting parties when my boss and I went to Vancouver, I had just missed the party at the Granville Island store.  Of course when I got back I contacted the local Calgary store, and then Annie at The Loop to see about getting some yarn dyed in the Fluevog colours.  The local dyer, Two Birds Knits, really knocked the colourway out of the park.  It is a vibrant red with tiny stripes of blue and white.  The custom pattern has a tiny cable down one side.  I can’t wait to get mine.  I didn’t really organize the party and the yarn so much as instigate the whole thing.

The party itself was fun, and there are plans to repeat it in August.  As luck would have it the party was on the eve of the big summer sale, so we got to preview all the shoes on sale.  I have bought a few pairs recently, but luckily most of that is because my boss and husband have discovered I like these shoes, and have been giving me gift certificates.  Yeah for them!  I am telling my boss that the shoes are going to make us a lot of money, and will be totally worth the $$ in the end.  We all tried on shoes, and bought some, even though it is fine to come to the party and not buy any shoes at all.  The store has a beautiful museum space upstairs where we sat and knit for awhile and ate cupcakes.  Yum.

10414581_10154322691735323_662009098313676158_n

One Response to “Me: Professional Engineer and now Professional Sock Model!”

  1. Rycrafty said

    Ooh, I’d love it if it happened again! I was sad I was away when the June one happened!

Leave a Reply

