Yarn Diet Dies at Olds Fibre Fair

July 11, 2014

Okay, so maybe it was broken with some sparkly yarn to make hats, and this as well:

Berroco CottonThe plan for those lovelies is a 3 colour Work + Shelter pullover, a summer version.  I am going to get this started this weekend, I hope it turns out as nice as I picture it.  There is one outstanding 3 colour version, and some duds, so fingers crossed I picked colours well.  The pink is going at the top, dark blue at the bottom, the middle colour is a silver/blue.

My yarn diet was a good success, I started close to 51, 000 yards, and am now under 43,000 yards.  My goal is now to get and stay under 40,000 yards by year end.  I wasn’t sure what I was going to find at the Olds Fibre Fair, as something magnificent always catches me by surprise up there and I buy more than I had thought I would.  My lovely husband trained my daughter to say “Don’t buy too much yarn Mummy”, which she said unexpectedly as we left the car to head into the venue.  She is hilarious that kid.

Bag O YarnThat is my bag, plus a lovely bowl I bought this year, as I already have so many mugs.  Spring Harvest Farm mohair goat, Dragonfly sock yarn, the Fibre Imp sock yarn (bright yellow, hard to see in this photo) and grey, teal, green and purple for a sweater.  All yummy yummy.  And I managed to get all this in the half hour Fia let me shop.  And by let me shop I mean as she GALLOPED around the venue.  Thank goodness fibre people are so nice in helping me locate that kid, she managed to get around the gym twice, GALLOPING, and yelling GALLOP! GALLOP! as she went.  I cup of apple juice people.  Only 1 cup does this to my child.  Fia also had a good time watching women weave and men and women spin.  She was mesmerized by a spinning wheel and almost seemed to fall into a trance, not moving for like 30 seconds.  That had to be a record of some sort.

Leave a Reply

