A Parade of FO’s Begins: First Up Sandshore

September 9, 2014

Sandshore from backI have finally gotten around to taking some photographs of my finished sweaters!  With an eye to the coming winter, low light conditions and few chances of taking photographs I have endeavoured to set up a bit of a studio in the basement.  There is a good light down there, and I have a few extra lamps to give as much light as possible.  The corner of the room by the door gives a nice pale blue backdrop.  Now I just need to work on my poses! 

I had mostly finished Sandshore on our Ontario “vacation” and did the final knitting once we got back.  There were mistakes in the pattern, but just by looking through the other projects it was easy to find the issues and fix them up quickly.  I used Zooey by Juniper Farms, which is a lovely linen cotton blend.  It is not the recommended yarn, but alas that yarn is not very available in this part of Canada, and I didn’t want to have to pay expensive shipping and duties to get it.  Even though I used smaller needles, I got the recommended gauge which was handy.  I knit a large size, as I wanted something really roomy, and this fits perfectly, staying on my shoulders easily.  I haven’t had a chance to wear it more than once or twice, and alas it has now snowed in our northern snowy land.  A month and a half early, and we are woefully unprepared.  Here is hoping that it will melt soon, and I can wear this lovely sweater outside again!

Leave a Reply

